We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$214
Priceline
$215
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$195
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
88
87
16
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
88
87
16
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hagley park within walking distance clean tidy main road botanic gardens bed was very comfortable unit accommodation motel city kitchenette noise chch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2020 via mobile

We stayed at this motel twice during our holiday, and we loved the location. It is just a short walking distance from several parks and the CBD.
The unit was also really clean and modern. I'd definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank idaaE6002WR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashfordmotorlodge, Manager at Ashford Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2020

Dear idaaE6002WR,

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay, not once - but twice!
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2020

We have stayed here for almost 2 weeks due to covid 19. The circumstances were uncertain, but Shelley was very understanding and we could speak Dutch with Hennie and Leo from housekeeping. They took good care of us and provided us with everything we needed. We had a perfect spacious room with good wifi and cooking facilities. A supermarket is at walking distance and a beautiful park is in the neigbourhood. It's a perfect place to stay near the center and 10 minutes from the airport.

Room tip: there are special rooms for disabled people
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorinaSn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashfordmotorlodge, Manager at Ashford Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2020

Dear CorinaSn,

Thank you so much for your kind words and pleased you were able to get home safe in the midst of a terrible pandemic. I am happy that we were able to accommodate your needs during the lockdown. Thank you again, and all the best.

Kind Regards,
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2020

We stayed here unexpectedly for two weeks during the Lockdown.
Shelley, Hennie and Leo took very good care for us.
Despite of the problems they were very kind and helpfull. It felt almost like home !
The studio has cookingfacilities and a large bathroom. Everything you need is available. Within a ten minutes walk you have a supermarket, other shops and a marvelous park (Hagley Park). Value for money is excellent.

Room tip: The rooms far away from the receptions are quiter because there is no noise of the trafic
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Siebke27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashfordmotorlodge, Manager at Ashford Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2020

Dear Siebke27,

Thank you for taking the time to review Ashford and I am so pleased you have made it home safely! With COVID 19 causing lockdowns, I understand how uncertain these times were for you both being across the other side of the world. Anything we could do to make you feel at ease was our main priority! We wish you all the best back in your homeland.

Take care,
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2020 via mobile

As a group of 6 adults plus 2 children we needed a first night’s accommodation with easy access to the airport before picking up our Motor Home to start our trip.
This Motor Lodge was perfect for us , we booked three apartments next to each other. Ours no17 had everything and more , double bed, bathroom en suite , lounge and kitchen and even a private balcony over looking the swimming pool. Everything was fresh and clean, for the price I would highly recommend you have a stay here.Oh and the walk across the Park and Botanical Gardens into Cathedral Square was an added bonus!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank CedHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashfordmotorlodge, Manager at Ashford Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2020

Dear CedHull_UK,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, its always appreciated! Pleased your family group enjoyed Ashford and I hope the rest of your trip in the Motorhome was as memorable. South Island is a great place to travel around! Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards,
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020

Not sure if we just caught them on a rough day but I can only just say average. We were in Christchurch during some super hot weather and the accomodation having no air con and no fans available was pretty rough but to top it off the pool was really dirty so we couldn’t even go for a swim comfortably. I did ask about the state of the pool and got told the pool cleaner was coming tomorrow but there was no improvement the next day so maybe he didn’t come? Anyways sadly for us they missed the mark so we won’t be back. Loved Christchurch so will definitely return but will look at staying elsewhere.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank mosscopeekotrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ashfordmotorlodge, Manager at Ashford Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Dear mosscopeekotrain,

I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent stay. You did catch us on some unusually hot days and with no air conditioning I understand this would have been somewhat uncomfortable. We did however have additional fans during this period so not sure if you enquired at reception?
Regarding the pool, this was vacuumed twice in the week due to the number of people using the pool as well as all the chemicals checked daily which returned correct. I apologise if you still found this to be unsatisfactory.

Kind Regards,
Shelley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews