We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Martin L

Comfortable accommodation close to the city.

Review of Merivale Manor
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2024
Our flight from Melbourne was cancelled and we eventually arrived late at night. Our room key was waiting for us, and there was milk in the fridge. We had a very warm welcome in the morning. Merivale is conveniently located for Central Christchurch. We stayed 2 nights at the start of our NZ tour.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$233
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$294
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $294
0.9 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$143
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$225
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $225
5.9 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $127
  • Algotels
2.3 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $125
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Merivale Manor
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $230
  • Priceline
7.3 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Booking.com
  • Novotel
    $190
  • ZenHotels.com
    $175
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Merivale Manor
Restaurant
Room service
Hotel Exterior
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $202
  • travelup.com
6.9 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (956)
Filter reviews
956 results
Traveller rating
756
155
35
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
756
155
35
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house old house city centre south island spa bath beautiful room home away from home friendly hosts visiting christchurch road noise bus stop an easy walk close to shops stayed nights would definitely stay here again full kitchen comfortable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 956 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2024 via mobile

Convenient location. Quiet, but we were in the manor. Staff were friendly and very nice and helpful. Continental breakfast generous. Lots of different fruit. Room was clean. Plenty of towels, wash cloths and very willing to replenish. Overall good stay!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2024 via mobile

Phil and Gin were fabulous hosts, and the rooms couldn’t have been nicer. They were sparkling clean, well stocked with high quality bedding and towels, modern tiled bathrooms, and a great espresso machine with plenty of coffee pods. There was even milk in the fridge. We stayed 3 nights at the beginning of our stay in South Island and 1 night on the back end, and both times our booked room was upgraded. The location is easy 20 minutes walking distance to the shops and restaurants around Cathedral Square. There is a fabulous breakfast place, Truffle, right across the street and an equally lovely dinner restaurant, Tutto Bene, just 400 meters away. One day we took the bus, which goes right by the front door, and it was so easy to navigate. To top it off, there were always fresh chocolates by the bed each night. Merivale Manor is highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Edgar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

Exceptionally helpful and friendly hosts. Have some rooms in the main manor and two additional buildings with modern rooms. We stayed in one of the additional buildings and our room was very comfortable. Close to restaurants and shopping.

Room tip: Sufficient parking on-site.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank yanceyjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

There’s lots of competition for travellers in Merivale just on the northern fringe of the city. Recommend this highly. Nice blend of apartments including very well appointed modern 3 bedroom’ers. The management team and staff were highly professional and engaging, great ambassadors for the city. Special thanks to manager Phil, perfect host

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Excursion18336845926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2024

This was our second stay at Merivale Manor. It's a beautiful colonial building very well situated on Papanui Rd, within walking distance to Merivale shops and restaurants, and just a few minutes by car from anywhere in central Christchurch. The rooms have everything you'd want, including large and comfortable beds. Staff could not be more welcoming. We wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Christchurch.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank evets1232016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews