We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bev & Barry Stafford
Franz Josef, New Zealand

Our favorite Christchurch accomodation

Review of Merivale Manor
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Apr 2022via mobile
Every time we visit Christchurch Merivale Manor is our first stop. Wayne & Karen are very welcoming & fun. Great position near the city centre & easy walking distance to Hayley Park, gorgeous Botannical gardens art centre etc. They will provide us with bikes too.

We have a favorite room but they are all spacious clean & comfortable

Highly recommended & we will be back.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$319
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $287
  • Vio.com
    $279
  • Priceline
    $319
0.9 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $269
  • Hotels.com
    $272
  • Priceline
    $299
1.2 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
$152
  • Priceline
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • Agoda.com
    $152
1.7 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
$222
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $222
  • Vio.com
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $222
1.8 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$229
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $229
  • Vio.com
    $198
  • Hotels.com
    $208
1.9 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • StayForLong
    $168
  • Hotel Website
    $179
2.3 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$188
  • Priceline
    $180
  • Official Site
    $141
  • Expedia.com
    $169
2.2 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
$110
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $105
  • Vio.com
    $82
  • Agoda.com
    $85
1.9 km from Merivale Manor
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$225
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $216
  • Priceline
    $225
5.9 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
$266
  • Priceline
    $266
  • Expedia.com
    $266
  • Hotels.com
    $266
7.3 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
757
155
35
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
757
155
35
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house old house city centre south island spa bath beautiful room home away from home friendly hosts visiting christchurch road noise bus stop an easy walk close to shops stayed nights would definitely stay here again full kitchen comfortable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 957 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2022

Great property. Great location. Awesome friendly and good humoured/helpful hosts. I would totally recommend it. Great day spa just along the road. Great restaurants in the immediate area. Athens Yacht Club is sensational

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelerTim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2022 via mobile

I absolutely LOVED my stay here! The manor is absolutely GORGEOUS!! Beautiful refurbished old style with a modern flair, leaving your feeling so comfortable and homely. The bedding sucks you in and you never want to leave. Karen and Wayne and always there for anything you need and go above and beyond! My partner had been in a paragliding accident soon before I arrived and I had to leave him in hospital to fix some broken bones, and they waited up until 11.30pm for my now solo arrival to see if I was ok and then laid all his stuff out for him in the garage to dry out. So kind!! Very much recommend!!!I

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank aeshascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2022

We stayed in the family suite, which was perfect for 2 couples (our parents and ourselves). The accommodation was very elegant, immaculately clean and felt like a home away from home. The hosts, Wayne and Karen were incredibly friendly and helpful, and the location was ideal - very central, within walking distance to great shops, cafes and restaurants. We would definitely stay there again!

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolinegN4490OF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2022

A fantastic place to stay. Wayne was so welcoming, the room was immaculate and beautiful and the rest of the house was amazing. Will definitely stay here every time we go to Christchurch. Having an evening drink on the balcony in the sun was so lovely.

Room tip: We had a suite at the back and it was beautiful. Very Quiet
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LucyVGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2022

We loved our stay at the Merivale Manor. With so many hotels and accommodation types to choose from, we hit the jackpot with this gorgeous property. Centrally located, beautifully stylish and sparkling clean, we loved our studio and all the amenities it offered. The manor itself is beautiful and as I love historical buildings, asked if I could be shown around inside, The manager happily took me on a tour of the house, which is truly splendid and grand.
Merivale Manor will be our destination on our next trip to Christchurch.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank X13UWkathyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews