We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marissa

Family of 5 loved our stay...

Review of Merivale Manor
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Jul 2021via mobile
We stayed 3 nights and we're lucky enough to experience the Wepu suite on the final evening which topped off a great stay. Rooms were very clean and tidy. The location was great to Merivale shops, Christchurch CBD, and was a short walk to a local park for kids. The facilities were great having 2 kids and a baby, kids slept very well as there was little street noise, and was nice warm and snug for them. Hosts Kate and Mat are amazing, friendly, very accommodating, and have fantastic customer service. Would highly recommended a stat at Marivale Manor.
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$267
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
$195
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • CrownePlaza.com
1.8 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$169
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
$250
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $250
5.9 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $249
  • Priceline
1.9 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $154
  • Algotels
2.3 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $185
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Merivale Manor
Restaurant
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $293
  • Priceline
7.3 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $103
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Merivale Manor
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (956)
Filter reviews
956 results
Traveller rating
756
155
35
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
756
155
35
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house old house city centre south island spa bath beautiful room home away from home friendly hosts visiting christchurch road noise bus stop an easy walk close to shops stayed nights would definitely stay here again full kitchen comfortable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 956 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2021

I stayed here for a business trip over two days in Christchurch. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean, warm and modern.
The property itself is a beautiful mixture of historical and new architectural designs - and within 15 mins of everywhere.

On one occasion the owner even moved his car to create space for mine as the parking spaces were all occupied.

Highly recommend staying here!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank C8161ESjonathanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2021 via mobile

A repeat visit after some years, and the same high standard of service and accommodation is available.

Accessible unit had all you needed with parking at the door or otherwise at the rear of the complex.

Very room with heating on when we arrived.

Motel is within walking distance of high class mall

Room tip: On a busy road, so ask for rear unit
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gtlegacy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2021 via mobile

Facing brain surgery at St George’s hospital in Christchurch, my husband and I looked for housing that would be comfortable and within easy walking distance of the hospital and various clinics and labs that we’d frequent before hospitalization. Merivale Manor turned out to be the perfect selection.

We stayed for 3 entire weeks and, during that time, the proprietors were kind enough to let us move within the facility so that we could sample 3 different types of rooms before selecting the one that would be best for my post surgery recovery.

We selected, in the end, the apartments, mainly because we felt that 3 weeks would be a bit long for 2 older people to be in a studio. Plus the apartments have washing and drying machines within each unit and fully equipped kitchens. The facility is in pristine condition and very actively maintained by Matt and Kate.

For a shorter trip, the studio spa would be our choice. It may not look unusual from outside, but it is laid out in a clever way that gives the spacious feeling of a one bedroom unit. The kitchenette is completely adequate, although there are many terrific restaurants close by so you may cook less often than you anticipate. That was our case. Nonetheless, it’s nice to cook up some eggs and toast before a busy day of activity. And the spa bath is a real luxury after day of brain scans, blood draws, doctors’ visits and city walking.

Only five minutes from the Manor is the Merivale Mall which houses an excellent Fresh Choice supermarket and a surprisingly good sushi restaurant. The sushi was a notch above what you might expect in a mall restaurant.

Also just a few minutes away is Indian Zaika, the best Indian restaurant we have visited in years, including a bunch of Michelin-starred ones in London. Try their outstanding chicken tikka (basically boneless skinless chicken tandoori, on the appetizer menu), along with some naan and their chicken biryani. The samosas were also delicious and fun to eat.

Hagley Park and the botanical garden is also within easy walking distance, as is the CBD, plus museums and other attractions.

Bottom line: the cliché, “location, location, location” absolutely applies here. Not only is St. George’s Hospital just a 10 minute walk away, so is Southern Cross Hospital, two branches of Pacific Radiology, and numerous other medical facilities. Being able to walk up and down the street was infinitely less stressful than having to drive through congested traffic.

Room tip: The apartments have individual parking but it's a tight fit and other guests sometimes blocked our car from exiting.
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank apph64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2021 via mobile

2 couples both rapt with the beautiful decor, and wonderful hospitality from both owners and staff. Library, balcony. Spotless, most luxurious stay. Always looked forward to returning & appreciating such beautiful accommodation. Thanks so much. Excellent location.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2021

Fantastic accomodation provider from booking all the way through to check out. Nothing was ever a problem, we felt welcomed and looked after. We will definitely be sure to return. Beds were comfortable, lots of space and tidy. Hosts were absolutely great! Thanks very much

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TR_HBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews