We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$213
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Priceline
$197
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$183
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
A Chandra

The Little Christchurch Wonder

Review of Merivale Manor
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Nov 2020
A two week stay turned into an undoubtedly the most memorable three weeks of my life. You will fall in love with this place the moment you walk in. The rooms are magnificent and spacious with everything you need for a relaxing stay. The furniture and arrangement gives you peace. Matt and Kate are superb hosts and employ very exciting staff who are super friendly and helpful and know how to make your stay even better. You cannot complain about anything and will leave with a bigger smile.
Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$323
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $315
  • Agoda.com
    $275
  • Hotels.com
    $295
1.2 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$233
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $233
  • Hotels.com
    $233
  • Expedia.com
    $233
1.2 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$144
  • Priceline
    $144
  • Hotels.com
    $144
  • Expedia.com
    $144
1.7 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$225
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $225
  • Agoda.com
    $217
  • Priceline
    $225
5.9 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$129
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $129
  • Vio.com
    $115
  • Expedia.com
    $129
2.3 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Agoda.com
    $107
  • Expedia.com
    $125
1.9 km from Merivale Manor
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $170
  • StayForLong
    $158
  • Hotel Website
    $170
2.3 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Booking.com
$199
  • Novotel
    $199
  • ZenHotels.com
    $184
  • Priceline
    $199
2.0 km from Merivale Manor
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$247
  • Priceline
    $247
  • ZenHotels.com
    $232
  • Hotels.com
    $247
7.3 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$215
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $212
  • ZenHotels.com
    $202
  • Expedia.com
    $215
6.9 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (956)
Filter reviews
956 results
Traveller rating
756
155
35
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
756
155
35
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house old house city centre south island spa bath beautiful room home away from home friendly hosts visiting christchurch road noise bus stop an easy walk close to shops stayed nights would definitely stay here again full kitchen comfortable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 956 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2020 via mobile

What a fabulous, warm and welcoming gem of a place Merivale Manor is! Matt and Kate were super friendly and helpful and went the extra mile making our stay memorable and special. We even got a glass of champagne before the races, how good 😉 This is our go to stay whenever in Christchurch.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank davaar249
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2020

The owners are a lovely couple who are very welcoming and friendly. The room was very clean and warm on arrival. The shower had great pressure! The staff are also friendly and happy to help with requests when needed. Overall a great experience.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Akd567
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2020

Whether staying for a short while, or a long stay as I was in managed isolation prior to Antarctic travel, this hotel is a pleasure to stay in. Our group stayed in the Manor house part of the complex and it has been beautifully restored. The rooms are luxurious, well furnished, air conditioned, have small kitchenettes perfect for to odd little extra meal preparation and the bathrooms are beautifully appointed.
The rooms and facilities are fantastic but what really makes a stay here special are the hosts and their superb staff. There is nothing they won't do to make your stay here memorable. Thanks Kate and Matt.

Room tip: Some suites have 2 rooms, lounge and bedroom while others are larger single rooms. All rooms are remarkably quiet. Great balcony!
Date of stay: November 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcyTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2020

I had the pleasure of a 2 week stay in the Manor. Room 210 was a stunning self contained room with immediate outside access. The room was exceptionally clean, well maintained and well stocked. All staff wore facemasks, there is ample hand sanitiser and all other precautions were taken to ensure guests remained Covid-19 free! Matt, Kate and the team went above and beyond to ensure that we were wll looked after and havde evrything we needed. The Manor is well situated in the heart of Merivale, walking distance to one of Christchurch's nicest cafe strips, and extremely close to the centre of town. There is plenty for the whole family, with bikes, basketball, games, a TV lounge and lovely kitchen. Despite only living around the corner, I'll definitely come and stay again. Thanks for the incredible hospitality - 2 weeks flew by! Thanks team

Room tip: Rooms upstairs have nice view of the property, rooms down stairs have direct outdoor access
Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattykjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2020

We had a great time staying in this amazing property situated in a great part of Christchurch. The hosts and staff went above and beyond catering to every need . Highly Recommended 10/10 would stay again

Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dilloooonnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews