We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kitty N

Best place to stay in Christchurch, or anywhere.

Review of Merivale Manor
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Oct 2020
Kate and Matt are the best hosts I’ve come across in all my travels in New Zealand and around the world. Nothing is too much trouble for them to help you with, and they create a relaxed and welcoming vibe. They have everything you need for a great stay, and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. The outside areas are lovely, and dog lovers can also hang out with Willow if they want to. I’ll be back next time I am in Christchurch. Thanks for a great two weeks K&M.
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$299
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $299
  • Vio.com
    $253
  • Priceline
    $299
0.9 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$294
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
$169
  • Doubletree
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Priceline
    $169
1.7 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
$194
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $194
  • Algotels
    $188
  • Expedia.com
    $194
1.8 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$225
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $214
  • Expedia.com
    $221
5.9 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Free parking
$229
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $229
  • Vio.com
    $199
  • Priceline
    $229
1.9 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$158
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $158
  • StayForLong
    $151
  • Hotel Website
    $159
2.3 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
$190
  • Booking.com
  • Novotel
    $190
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from Merivale Manor
Restaurant
Room service
$266
  • Expedia.com
    $266
  • Priceline
    $266
  • Hotels.com
    $266
7.3 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $141
  • Expedia.com
    $155
2.2 km from Merivale Manor
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
757
155
35
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
757
155
35
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house old house city centre south island spa bath beautiful room home away from home friendly hosts visiting christchurch road noise bus stop an easy walk close to shops stayed nights would definitely stay here again full kitchen comfortable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 957 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2020

I spent two weeks at the Manor.
It was like a home away from home, beautifully appointed rooms, incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was a problem.

Hope to visit again in the future.
Thanks Kate and Matt for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Brtsgruffhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2020

Brilliant place to spend time, relaxed feel, incredibly attentive and kind hosts who go out of their way to make each guests stay comfortable. Great location and grounds, all the staff really pleasant and great attention to detail in all the rooms - everything is provided for and the place is kept immaculate. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. Thanks Matt and Kate for your wonderful hospitality!

Room tip: Top floor rooms get lots of sun and have great views, bottom floor are very accessible and spacious
Date of stay: October 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kmckenzie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2020

Beautiful place, Awesome hosts Kate and Matt who go over and above.

I was going to stay for 2 weeks but the place was so nice my stay extended. Although the place is so close to many things I didn't want to leave the property, Its like a home away from home.
Its located close to central city but when on the property it feels quiet and calm.
One of my favourite things were the green spaces outside.

Highly recommend A++++++++++++++++
Ange

Room tip: their all amazing
Date of stay: September 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngeBuunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2020

Merivale Manor stands out. Along with their superb team, Matt and Kate have gone over and above to make our stay not just incredibly comfortable, but a memorable experience.

The rooms are quiet, immaculately kept and close to the city centre without being ‘too busy.’

Isolating here prior to deploying to Antarctica has been a real pleasure, and that comes down to the hard work of the team at Merivale Manor. Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Scooot1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 August 2020 via mobile

We spent an awesome night here, beautiful room and super friendly, helpful manager, went out of his way to make our stay memorable, highly recommended, we have booked another night already for later in the year.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stuartmQ9201KM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews