We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveller rating
572
146
33
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
572
146
33
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house breakfast cereals peacock suite merivale mall new zealand papanui road city centre free wifi old house spa room away from the road minute walk south island motel units road noise visiting christchurch lovely hosts
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 759 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wayne and Karen were the perfect hosts. We spent 2 weeks in October touring around the South Island. The day before and the day after our road trip we stayed at Merivale Manor. Not only were we provided with excellent accommodations but Wayne and Karen also were very helpful in recommending restaurants and best ways to see the city center. The Merivale village is very upscale in a laid back way. We hope to return and stay here again.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

My mum and I stayed at the Merivale Manor on arrival to Christchurch and when leaving. Karen and Wayne make you feel most welcome and very comfortable, they are hospitable and made our stay at the manor more than we could have expected. The Manor is a charming place to stay and has alot of history about it. The beds are comfortable and you have a choice of pillows, which is always good. I loved every moment of our stay at the Manor, and thank Karen and Wayne for making it as enjoyable as it was. Would recommend this place to anyone wishing to stay in Christchurch, walking distance to shops and food and it is central to everything.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank rcbradford76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at Merivale Manor in one of the upstairs balcony rooms. The room was excellent and the access to the balcony for a glass of red in the evenings was wonderful. Great location to town and Merivale shops. Plenty of parking and manicured gardens. Wayne, one of the extremely welcoming owners, also makes an excellent flat white in the office. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are great as handy to the balcony where there are two sets of tables and chairs for an evening drink.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiexplorer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We got stuck in Chch as the Airbnb that we had booked turned into a disaster. Last minute we booked and stayed in a downstairs family room with our two kids as the apartments were booked out.

Room was very clean and massive.

We are returning at Christmas if there is availability!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

I highly recommend this accommodation. Friendly hosts, lovely room. So handy to food and amenities.The Manor was warm inside and our stay was early October. It is very tidy and the gardens are well kept.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Experience820906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews