We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sherpa46550321819
Queenstown, New Zealand

Gothic Heights great value

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Oct 2019
My room was spotlessly clean. It was old, but oh-so-clean. The host lady was super friendly and helpful, and I would absolutely stay there again. Represented excellent value. Being right opposite the Park was good for me.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $299
  • Agoda.com
    $257
  • Vio.com
    $299
1.7 km from Gothic Heights Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $169
  • Doubletree
    $169
  • Priceline
    $169
1.6 km from Gothic Heights Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $299
  • Vio.com
    $253
  • Priceline
    $299
2.0 km from Gothic Heights Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$229
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    $199
  • Hotels.com
    $208
1.1 km from Gothic Heights Motel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $214
  • Priceline
    $225
6.9 km from Gothic Heights Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $194
  • Algotels
    $188
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $194
1.8 km from Gothic Heights Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$158
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.2 km from Gothic Heights Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $188
  • Official Site
    $141
  • Priceline
    $159
1.6 km from Gothic Heights Motel
Free Wifi
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $190
  • Novotel
    $190
  • Priceline
    $190
1.8 km from Gothic Heights Motel
Restaurant
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $266
  • Priceline
    $266
  • Hotels.com
    $266
8.4 km from Gothic Heights Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
17
33
16
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
33
16
8
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2019 via mobile

Had the pleasure of dealing with an awesome man at reception who was really helpful! Booked 2 rooms for myself and a few of my family as we were just visiting a family member in Hospital for a few days. Great service and room was immaculate! Enjoyed our 2 night stay x Thank you to you and your staff for everything x God bless you all very much

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank akatenir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2018

If you need to stay near Christchurch Public Hospital or want a quiet motel within walking distance of Cathedral Square, Gothic Heights is a good choice. There is a 4m by 4.4m (nearly) lounge/bedroom with a small separate kitchen leading to the bathroom. We found room 16 quiet and comfortable It was plainly but well furnished. We were there for one night only but feel one could stay several days. The wifi was free and working well. Food was harder to find but was within (a longish?) walking distance. Management was helpful with advice . All the rooms are the same and all at ground level. We took an upgraded room for an extra $20 because it had been refurbished. We had no problems getting about on foot and taking the odd taxi but others may feel happier using a car.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We booked a one bedroomed unit, and appreciated that the bathroom was not an ensuite but off hallway separate from lounge and bedroom. Even though the lounge heater was set at a specific temperature, the bedroom heater helped warm the rooms up on late return in evening. I would recommend panel heaters, as the bedroom heater was too noisy to leave on, and it got down to around 2 degrees one night. The hot water also needs to be turned down at the cylinder, as we initially got burnt when doing the dishes. Overall, the rate of the room was very good, and 850m to walk to hospital, and free Wifi.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bjandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Stayed there for the "Disney On Ice". The location beside Hagley Park is great and I would endeavour to say that if staying during the week it would be alot better than the weekend. This has nothing to do with the welcoming owners and the tidy well priced accommodation, its has to do with the extreme noise factor coming off Moorehouse ave.
I found out from a Uber driver when telling him that it was pretty noisy place to stay, that Moorehouse Ave is used for Drag racing for young hoons in their very noisy suped up sports cars. They apparently race up and down this street right outside this motel on Friday and Saturday nights. I suggest if staying here that you choose a unit/room that is far away from Moorehouse Ave. It was like trying to sleep beside a speedway............Awful noise.

Room tip: Choose rooms furthest away from Moorhouse Ave
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OleSchool
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Gothic heights is a basic motel located on the edge of Hagely park, about 800 metres from the hospital. It is what it is - an older style motel, but reasonably priced. The rooms were clean, shower hot, there is a heater in the room and basic cooking facilities. Wifi is available and there is a special room for washing laundry so if you are looking for a cheap place to stay this is quite a good choice. Good parking.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wackersGoldenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews