We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Bloody Mary's

Bloody Mary's
Ranked #53 of 1,221 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $48
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, New Zealand, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bloody Mary's is New York steakhouse meets Kiwi hospitality for a Steakhouse experience not to be missed. Our menu features premium Canterbury Beef and Lamb and the freshest local ingredients we can get our hands on. We take some of the best ingredients from one of the purest places on earth and make them simply delicious. Our private dining spaces are perfect for that special occasion including the Whisky Library for up to 30 people and Private Dining Room for up to 70 people.
Reviewed 10 February 2021

Fan bloody tastic. An 8 day stay at Rydges with Bloody Mary's our go to for drinks and meals. From the first welcoming step until the last leaving step. The food and beverages were outstanding and highly recommended. However for us it was the staff that made our visit truly exceptional. Their help and service was the best we have ever encountered anywhere. We would like make special mentions to Sapphire, who was our first contact, Ben & Faz, who kept the wife amused with their cocktail making skills, Sam and Jameen for their amazing service ensuring we were well hydrated. Ben along with his excellent cocktail making skills also provided us with great recommendations on meals to try at the restaurant and gave us many suggestions on activities to do while we were visiting. We would highly recommend taking the time to visit.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveFlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2021

We were a group of seven friends meeting the day after a wedding. Service was prompt and professional. I had the seafood chowder which was very nice indeed with a good sauce and flavourful selection of seafood. I had the duck which was tasty as well. Everyone enjoyed their choice of starters and mains. I didn't have a dessert due to being full.

We enjoyed being able to watch the kitchen staff and our waiters were awesome.

I would recommend this place and definitely go again when back in Christchurch.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank LGFoodieInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2021

So good ate there three times in a row with friends and family. Staff a delight, small delicious menu, good wine selection.

Date of visit: January 2021
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank 179susanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

Good service , but the food is pretty unreliable . Been here a number of times . For a place that’s meant to
Be a steak house the steaks are hit and miss . Disappointing of late

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank 958sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ErinDuck, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2021

Hi 985sc,

Thanks for taking the time to provide some valuable feedback in regards to your recent visit to Bloody Mary's. I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your meals. Are you able to contact me on 03 943 6590 or at erin_duck@evt.com to discuss the details of your visit?

Kind regards,
Erin Duck
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021 via mobile

lovely interior and great service. Had the panko crumb venison cheek and the lamb croquettes to start but it was quite dry and bland, the mains were a little bit better. The cocktails made up for the food. Best espresso martini I've ever had.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank jprisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ErinDuck, Manager at Bloody Mary's, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2021

Hi Explore813853,

Thank you for reaching out in regards to your recent visit to Bloody Mary's. I'm so glad you enjoyed our amazing cocktails and friendly service. I will pass your feedback onto all parties concerned, and we look forward to welcoming you again another time.

Kind regards,
Erin Duck
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bloody Mary's also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Bloody Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.