We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$141
View deal
Booking.com
US$139
View deal
Hotels.com
US$141
View deal
FindHotelUS$141
CheapTicketsUS$141
Trip.comUS$141
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,392)
Filter reviews
1,392 results
Traveller rating
515
624
185
40
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
515
624
185
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cathedral square accor member valet parking bathroom sink central location hand basin breakfast buffet executive room the heart of the city good size new zealand mini bar comfy bed south island earthquake concierge tram
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,392 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2021

Executive room was a bit tired. But bed was good. Wifi good also. Aircon did not seem to change temp and could not go below 15 degrees. Service at dinner was atrocious. Breakfast was very good. Buffet with heaps of options. Overall stay was good. Well situated.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank raewynr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley Conder, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Hello raewynr2013

Thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay with us Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square. We appreciate the positive comments regarding the WiFi and bed. Sorry that the AirCon didn't cool to your desired temperature. Our air-conditioning ranges from 17 to 26. your comments around dinner service are concerning and we are looking in to the service levels offered. Full apologies for any failings on our behalf

Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2021

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bradley Conder, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 March 2021

We chose this hotel as we are Accor Plus Members and also the central location of the Hotel which was excellent
We upgraded our 1st stay to an executive room which was not worth the $. The layout of the room was quite odd and a lack of plugs. Our 2nd stay we did not upgrade, however, we were given a complimentary upgrade. We ate breakfasts at the Restaurant which were good and a good selection and also a dinner, however, on our 2nd overnight stay, we tried to eat at the Restaurant and the Barman seemed annoyed we had not made a reservation. Hello we were guests in the hotel!!!! He was quite offhand so we decided to eat out of the Hotel and pleased we did so. In general a bit disappointed with the hotel

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley Conder, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Hello Anita

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square

Im sorry you were not able to secure a booking for the restaurant on your second stay. We do our best to accommodate everyone we can but we always suggest booking for dinner early to avoid disappointment.

You have provided some particularly valuable insights that i will discuss with my respective teams. I’d like to apologise for the areas that didn’t meet your expectations.

I hope one day you give us a chance to earn back your trust

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2021

We generally prefer to stay in extremely quite accommodations but even if exactly in the middle of town this hotel is not noisy. The location couldn't of course be better: you can just walk to all the central attractions.
Our room was tidy and the bed was comfortable.
Because of the COVID situation our first breakfast was not buffet but a la carte and we found the choices quite limited and the food very disappointing. SUCH A DIFFERNCE with the PERFECT buffet offered in the following days during the weekend. We will stay for sure again in the future (if they have breakfast buffet)

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bobs35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley Conder, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Hi Bob

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square. We pride ourselves on providing genuine service so it’s fantastic to hear you had a great experience with us. The only reason we stop serving buffet breakfasts is due to Covid alert levels in NZ. Believe me we do not make the decision by choice but to obey the rules set upon us

We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2021

The staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are always tidy and the beds are very comfortable. The food is excellent in the restaurant. I travel a lot and find the Novotel a perfect place to stay. It is central to the city so very helpful.

Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank miker0che
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley Conder, General Manager at Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Hello Mike

Thanks for the fabulous feedback. We can’t wait to welcome you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews