We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$458
Fully refundable before Sat, 9 Mar
Priceline
$489
Fully refundable before Fri, 15 Mar
No prepayment needed
Lol.travel
$428
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,652)
Filter reviews
1,652 results
Traveller rating
876
569
144
40
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
876
569
144
40
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bloody mary cardboard cathedral conference facilities modern hotel buffet breakfast city centre good size mini bar an easy walk great stay excellent hotel reception staff room was large lovely room free wifi comfy bed new zealand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,652 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2023 via mobile

Positive . Spacious room and comfortable bad . It ends there . Musty smell on corridor . Room has floor to ceiling window however window was filthy . On arrival coach was parked close alongside the room blocking the whole window area . Did move on after 30 mins but pretty shocked on arrival to see that . Then the Sun was streaming in so the dust in the room was very evident !
The floor to ceiling view is of the car park at ground level , but not just stationary cars ,it directly looks onto the entrance to the car park where there was a constant flow of cars/ taxis arriving . Headlights shining in when dark . Woken early by the cars / taxis arriving arriving .Staff response ‘this is what you booked ,one of our superior double rooms ‘ .Lesson learnt as a uk traveller ( an ‘superior room ‘ is a standard room )but this particular room fell well below even that standard in my view . Unable to have another room as fully booked. Fortunately it was a one night stay , had I had a car I would have left and stayed elsewhere . Have been travelling for 6 weeks and this was the worst room

Room tip: Avoid room 30
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TrulyScrumptious254
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shyama Maity, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2023

Dear TrulyScrumptious254

Thank you for your valuable feedback, and we extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you encountered. I want to reassure you that the concern was personally addressed with you and promptly followed up at the hotel level the next morning.

We appreciate your understanding and bringing this matter to our attention and hope you had a good time touring New Zealand.

Kind regards,
Rydges Latimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2023 via mobile

This was a wonderful property. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We were able to use the laundry facility to get some clothes cleaned for the rest of our journey. The hotel was within walking distance of everything that we wanted to do and see in Christchurch. We would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Whitford4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shyama Maity, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2023

Dear Whitford4

We are delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience at the property! It's great that the staff was friendly and helpful, and the convenience of the laundry facility must have been quite handy for your journey. Being in a central location within walking distance of attractions is always a plus, and I'm glad it contributed to a memorable stay in Christchurch.
Thank you for your kind words and we will look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Rydges Latimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2023

Stayed previous and returned due to Location, Great Staff and Great nights sleep. Never been disappointed with Hotel. The adjoining restaurant is ideal for breakfast or dinner, with a relaxing bar attached. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shyama Maity, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Dear E1719ZCsueg

We're delighted to welcome you back! Your loyalty speaks volumes about your satisfaction with our hotel. It's fantastic that our location, great staff, and comfortable nights' sleep continue to meet your expectations. We appreciate your trust in us, and we're pleased to hear that you've never been disappointed. The adjoining restaurant, perfect for breakfast and dinner, along with the relaxing bar, only enhances your experience. Thank you for the high recommendation; we can't wait to host you again.

Kind regards
Rydges Latimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2023 via mobile

The room was very comfortable, clean and well serviced.
The layout of the room was spacious
The staff were super friendly and welcoming.
I never normally have breakfast but I was really impressed with the options and the quality of the food.
The communal areas were well thought out.

Room tip: No.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shyama Maity, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Dear Margaret C

We're delighted to hear you had a fantastic stay and that you found your room to be clean, comfortable, and well-serviced with a spacious layout. The friendly staff, impressive breakfast options, and well-designed communal areas added to your positive experience. Thank you for your kind words and we will look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kind regards'
Rydges Latimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2023

Well appointed room and quiet in the room - which is not common!
Excellent location, very easy short work to city centre, tram, Riverside Market, Avon and Cathedral Square.
Restaurant had a lovely vibe and the staff were very accommodating (putting the netball on for me). Food was lovely.
Christchurch has proven to be a great place to visit and we will be back!

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adventure785612
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shyama Maity, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2023

Dear Adventure785612

Thank you for your fantastic review! We're thrilled you had a great stay in Christchurch. Our well-appointed and quiet rooms, excellent location, and welcoming restaurant staff clearly made a positive impression on you. We can't wait to welcome you back for more adventures in our beautiful city!

Kind regards
Rydges Latimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews