We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$122
Hotels.comUS$122
Hotel WebsiteUS$121
travelup.comUS$123
PricelineUS$122
TravelocityUS$122
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,535)
Filter reviews
1,535 results
Traveller rating
812
541
133
31
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
812
541
133
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bloody mary cardboard cathedral conference facilities city centre buffet breakfast good size mini bar an easy walk great stay excellent hotel hotel restaurant room was large reception staff great room free wifi comfortable beds earthquake
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,535 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2022 via mobile

Great stay close to town center only 10 min walk to convention center where we were attending.
Breakfast was awesome had everything you could ask for. Fry up was great mixed flavour sausage and continental had it all.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyama Maity, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Paul H
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. It is very pleasing to hear your appreciation of your breakfast dining experience in our restaurant and the convenience of our location.

Thank you again for taking the time to post this review

Kind regards
Rydges Latimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2022

We had called the hotel to book a table for breakfast the next morning, and they’ve told us we could walk in the next morning and it would be fine. We arrived at about 8am, only one table was occupied. The attendant asked if we had a booking, to which we said ‘no’ and explained we had called. They then told us that unfortunately they couldn’t accommodate us because they were fully booked. Like, really? And why we were not told that on the phone the night before? What a shame, the Rydges. Hope you have enough guests to fill the dozens of empty tables and enough work for the 5 staff members that were doing nothing at the time we arrived.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank BrunaTardetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyama Maity, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2022


Dear BrunaTardetti

Thank you for taking the time to post the review. We would like to apologise for the miscommunication about the breakfast bookings on mother’s day.
We encourage all our guests to make the booking for breakfast whether they are in house guests or locals. The reception team should have encouraged you to make the booking. We are sorry that the staff could not take your booking on the day as we had over 150 guests booked from 8.30am onwards.
However, the staff should have offered other alternatives to seat you in our brasserie area. Please note that the team has been spoken to in regards to how to better manage similar situations and offering alternatives.
As you can see from our previous reviews, this is not the norm for Rydges Latimer. We look forward to get another opportunity down the line to serve you at the restaurant.

Regards,
Abhishek Kurade
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2022

A welcoming atmosphere, in a great location. Staff are friendly and helpful. The bed and room were comfortabe and clean. The arm chairs look nice but are not very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was nice and there was plently to choose from. This is not our first visit to this hotel and we will be back again

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bruceh536
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyama Maity, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2022

Dear bruceh536

We are always delighted to welcome back returning guests and are pleased to learn that your stay with us was made memorable once again by the genuine and friendly service you received from each of our team. It is also wonderful to hear you appreciated the comfort of your room and your breakfast experience! We look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards
Rydges Latimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2022

Good location, close to Bars and Cafes, but quiet setting for relaxing. the bar and restaurant were great. very good service and the meals were very good.
Hotel was comfortable and and easy to get to. Rooms are very nice and comfortable.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank demac07
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyama Maity, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2022

Dear demac07

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. We are pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and particularly appreciated the convenience of our location, comfort of the room, service you received from our helpful staff, and your meals at the restaurant and the bar.

Kind regards
Rydges Latimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2022 via mobile

My first stay here and what a third world hotel.
All I ordered was a beef burger for room service because I have to get up at 4am
Was told 30 min and 1 hour later it still hasn’t arrived, POOR customer service, UNACCEPTABLE from a Hotel
This is NOT how you please or keep customers

Room tip: Don’t stay here
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Rothville
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shyama Maity, Guest Services / Front Office at Rydges Latimer Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2022

Dear Rothville

We have investigated the delayed order and found that the order was placed at 1820 hrs in the evening and the order was delivered at 19:05 hrs up to the room.
To make things simpler and hassle-free for the future and to ensure you get your order at the time you request, we can always take pre-orders for your dinner and serve at the time you request. You can always contact one of our friendly reception or the restaurant team regarding the same.

Kind regards
Rydges Latimer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews