We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing - Still a great cafe :) ”
Review of Copenhagen Bakery

Copenhagen Bakery
Ranked #14 of 183 Quick Bites in Christchurch
Cuisines: European
Description: European and Danish style Bakery and cafe with freshly baked breads, pastries and cakes each day. A very full and delightful array of freshly baked cabinet food on display each day but Sundays and Public Holidays. The only bakery in Christchurch with such a vast variety of freshly filled salad rolls filled from scratch every day from their freshly baked sour dough breads. Catering for take out and dining in, also deliveries to businesses within town for morning tea and lunch shouts. Production of award winning hot pies and tasty savourys and many other products. All products are baked on site from artisan and scratch baking methods including sour dough breads and only using the very best of ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: European and Danish style Bakery and cafe with freshly baked breads, pastries and cakes each day. A very full and delightful array of freshly baked cabinet food on display each day but Sundays and Public Holidays. The only bakery in Christchurch with such a vast variety of freshly filled salad rolls filled from scratch every day from their freshly baked sour dough breads. Catering for take out and dining in, also deliveries to businesses within town for morning tea and lunch shouts. Production of award winning hot pies and tasty savourys and many other products. All products are baked on site from artisan and scratch baking methods including sour dough breads and only using the very best of ingredients.
Reviewed 9 October 2023

Popped in to get a lovely Savoury and Knot for lunch, which wasn't up to the normal standard, the Savoury was dry like it had been in the warmer too long and I had required the ham and egg knot, I got back to work to find out it was chicken. - Disappointing

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2023 via mobile

Brought the family in for morning tea - warm and happy staff - amazing range of bakery goods on offer - fair coffee, great hot chocolate - reasonable prices as well

Date of visit: July 2023
1  Thank DanielC16193
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2023 via mobile

Really good quiche and pies. Cafés were great too and served fast. The price were very reasonable. The hot cross buns are excellent !

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank chienbleu75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2023

Was charged $5.80 for a hot chocolate (with 1 marshmallow!) with my own cup - supposedly now classed as extra large when the day before it was $5.30, which is expensive enough! So are they now saying that an extra-large hot chocolate for someone without their own cup will be $6.30?? Absurd! The customer service is frequently left wanting. I'm just not going to bother going there any more. There are plenty of other nice cafes in the area.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kiwilin1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jet06153361043, Owner at Copenhagen Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2023

reg TA Hot chocolate 5.50
large TA Hot chocolate 5.80
Extra large Hot chocolate $6.30
Own cup fill minus 50 cents on any cup
customer loyalty minus 50c on every cup (stamp loyalty card gives you a free cup up to $5, therefor equate to 50c on each cup for 10 stamps
therefor $1 discount for loyalty and on every coffee
I think the coffee prices are very reasonable.
Sometimes we have new staff serving and if you are unsure about the prices then please enquire while you are at the counter, we would be more than happy to discuss the query.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2022

Ate here twice in one weekend whilst in chch. Nice coffee, beautiful berry custard tart. Ficelle with ham and cheese toasted also very nice.

Date of visit: November 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Copenhagen Bakery also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Copenhagen Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.