We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pastry”
Review of Copenhagen Bakery

Copenhagen Bakery
Ranked #14 of 183 Quick Bites in Christchurch
Cuisines: European
Description: European and Danish style Bakery and cafe with freshly baked breads, pastries and cakes each day. A very full and delightful array of freshly baked cabinet food on display each day but Sundays and Public Holidays. The only bakery in Christchurch with such a vast variety of freshly filled salad rolls filled from scratch every day from their freshly baked sour dough breads. Catering for take out and dining in, also deliveries to businesses within town for morning tea and lunch shouts. Production of award winning hot pies and tasty savourys and many other products. All products are baked on site from artisan and scratch baking methods including sour dough breads and only using the very best of ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: European and Danish style Bakery and cafe with freshly baked breads, pastries and cakes each day. A very full and delightful array of freshly baked cabinet food on display each day but Sundays and Public Holidays. The only bakery in Christchurch with such a vast variety of freshly filled salad rolls filled from scratch every day from their freshly baked sour dough breads. Catering for take out and dining in, also deliveries to businesses within town for morning tea and lunch shouts. Production of award winning hot pies and tasty savourys and many other products. All products are baked on site from artisan and scratch baking methods including sour dough breads and only using the very best of ingredients.
Reviewed 10 December 2021 via mobile

Good coffee (not ultra-coffee-snub amazing but a solid good), yummy pastries and the bread looks AMAZING.
Don’t understand the terrible reviews and glad I went anyway.
I asked about Kanelsnegle (couldn’t remember the name) but with some nuts in it. It’s the one outstanding pastry I remember in Copenhagen that I haven’t been able to find outside of Denmark. The cashier didn’t understand what I wasn’t making a lot of sense either!

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank tmarie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2021

Average food and a rude owner would not recommend. Much nicer options around highly unlikely I would return.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank matcha747
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kiwigirldt, Owner at Copenhagen Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Hello, I am very sorry to read that you feel this way? A very negative generalised comment to make damming an owner for bring rude when this business has been around for 32 years and a with a proven customer base and goodwill based on top quality food and friendly service. I guess people will vote with their feet and the return business proves this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2021 via mobile

Looking forward to having breakfast here. More than disappointed to find out that despite having their menu up there is no breakfast. They seemed unaware that despite having their menu up that they were doing breakfast at all! They may as well just call themselves a bakery. This is the third bad experience here. Will not be returning.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Voyager21259029564
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kiwigirldt, Owner at Copenhagen Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Hello, just to be clear here, we are a Danish bakery. We produce european style breakfast morning style bakery food, pastries and breads, croissants etc. We do not do kiwi donuts, typical eggs bene, kiwi hash browns and bacon, porridge etc with a chef out back. All our freshly baked products are displayed in the cabinet ready to go or be heated as you wait. Our breakfast menu is as you see it when you come in. Bagels toasted croissants with ham or cheese. Sorry your perception was not as you were anticipating but we are a bakery with a cafe on the side!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Came for a treat with the wife who Ike the kids were at school.
I had a latte which was horrific could not drink it. Was so burnt
Wife had a spiced chai with oat milk, this was made with almond milk so we asked for an oat milk one. Was more like a water one
The rhubarb slice was more like a lemon zest slice not even a taste of rhubarb. You could see it though
On a good note the filled rolls were nice

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 765brettj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2021 via mobile

Last minute birthday cake dash to grab a Black Forest Gateau was the perfect choice!

Cake was light, not overly sickly sweet and with real fresh cream coated with a generous amount shaved/pieces of chocolate.

Our family enjoyed and indulged!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Breeze_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Copenhagen Bakery also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Copenhagen Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.