We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and coffee hopeless organisation”
Review of Copenhagen Bakery

Copenhagen Bakery
Ranked #14 of 183 Quick Bites in Christchurch
Cuisines: European
Description: European and Danish style Bakery and cafe with freshly baked breads, pastries and cakes each day. A very full and delightful array of freshly baked cabinet food on display each day but Sundays and Public Holidays. The only bakery in Christchurch with such a vast variety of freshly filled salad rolls filled from scratch every day from their freshly baked sour dough breads. Catering for take out and dining in, also deliveries to businesses within town for morning tea and lunch shouts. Production of award winning hot pies and tasty savourys and many other products. All products are baked on site from artisan and scratch baking methods including sour dough breads and only using the very best of ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: European and Danish style Bakery and cafe with freshly baked breads, pastries and cakes each day. A very full and delightful array of freshly baked cabinet food on display each day but Sundays and Public Holidays. The only bakery in Christchurch with such a vast variety of freshly filled salad rolls filled from scratch every day from their freshly baked sour dough breads. Catering for take out and dining in, also deliveries to businesses within town for morning tea and lunch shouts. Production of award winning hot pies and tasty savourys and many other products. All products are baked on site from artisan and scratch baking methods including sour dough breads and only using the very best of ingredients.
Reviewed 11 May 2019 via mobile

This place is a victim of its own popularity.

It needs someone to find in and organise it to deal with the volume of customers. The till is in the wrong place. There is no separate coffee order place.

They told me they don’t have time to look at the online orders when they’re busy!

It’s still worth coming here, but you really need to be patient in the face of of customer hostile, Fawlty towers like attitude.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kiwigirldt, Owner at Copenhagen Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2019

Sorry but With Online orders their is a 24hour notice and we check these 3 times a day. We are serving our customers on the floor and not waiting for the emails or phone/text mesaages to come in. We are not a hotel reception or restuarant but a very popular bakery and do the very best we can to give the promptest and best service under sometimes extreme customer demands. Our sincere apologies if standing in a queue is a disappointment and frustrating exercise for you especially if you only wish for a coffee and perhaps more prompt service. We can not gauge when our customers will come in and what products our customers want so just like any other popular establishment or destination attraction you still have to line up and be patient in busy periods and not expect immediate service. We had a separate coffee counter just for walk ins but this was proven inefficient as 99% of the time the customer will order coffee and then ask for other tag on products at the main food counter to avoid standing in the queue which made other customers grumpy that came in first! It is very hard to please everyone all of the time but we do try our very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2019 via mobile

Whenever I go to Christchurch I find and excuse to visit Copenhagen Bakery. There is a wonderful range of breads, scrolls, buns and cakes. I always take some home to share.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Marg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2019

Fabulous coffee and a mouthwatering array of cakes , pastries and breads all homemade. Great service and plenty of staff and space. Thoroughly recommended

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2019

Have tried the bread, pies, cakes and slices over a period of years and have never been disappointed in anything Ive purchased. Our Xmas order got slightly mixed up this year but they more than made up for it. Bonus now they are out of town as parking is not such an issue and they are closer to home for me.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 April 2019 via mobile

I had the chicken wrap paid for a hole wrap and seemed to get half a wrap. It was ok but the price was way to high.
Other things may be nice but not the wraps
Most disappointing meal in NZ

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Dizzyr32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kiwigirldt, Owner at Copenhagen Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2019


hello, I'm am very sorry to hear you had a disappointing meal at our bakery and most disappointing in NZ, due to the price of a wrap??? Really?
Our wraps cost $8.50, and I would call that fairly standard price for a filled roll or bagel or croissant or sub or wrap for most cafes any where in a NZ ? And especially filled with smoked chicken. There is an option to have half of one of these wraps is $4.50, so maybe there was some confusion with the reading of the label , which is not deserving a 2 star rating surely??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Copenhagen Bakery also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Copenhagen Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.