We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Invorrect order and a poor response”

BASE Woodfired Pizza
Ranked #8 of 183 Quick Bites in Christchurch
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Description: We prepare and cook woodfired pizzas to order with only fresh and local ingredients. We provide vegetarian and gluten free options.
Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

Absolute disgrace we ordered takeaway pizzas via uber eats 1 which was vegetarian and both came with meat and we didn’t get the margarita we ordered.
I call them and they blamed uber eats and wouldn’t take ownership.
The poor uber driver didn’t cook the pizza.
Clearly was an honest mistake but just own it anyway cheese toasts for a starving daughter now.
never again order due to the response.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gill thomson, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

Hi Paul
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience.
Unfortunately for us when we have orders go out through our delivery partners, we are totally reliant on them resolving any issues there may be.
We cannot refund a payment made through uber.. only they can. We cannot arrange an additional order to be sent.. only they can. Why you received wrong pizzas, is likely to be a mix up with how the orders were collected and delivered.
Did they have the correct docket attached to the boxes? Did they have your name on them? These details would be helpful in helping to resolve where the issue arose.
Uber are very helpful at refunding orders that customers are unhappy with in any way. I'm sorry you felt we were unhelpful, however, once again all queries with uber orders, have to be dealt with by uber, not the individual business.
Hopefully you have already contacted uber to request a full refund .
Kind regards and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2023

The meat on chips option superb, beautifully presented, great portion and soooo delicious! Value for money too.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank haereno
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2023 via mobile

I would not never normally give a four out of five on a whim, but the Moroccan lamb on the pie was very very unexpectedly good. The pizza with olives was also very good. The margarita pizza however, was not good at all. The sauce was almost out of a can. The bread was almost right, but not there.

The homemade pasta chicken pesto Alfredo special was phenomenal.

Date of visit: May 2023
Thank SINYC718
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2022

Super busy place, but pizza came pretty quickly.
It's situated in a place with many other restaurants, and you have to find a spare table, no bookings
Pizza was great, super tasty
Highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2022

We were looking for a place serving delicious Italian food in a nice atmosphere, and going here on a cold winter evening was in this context clearly a mistake.

Pasta was ok (a bit salty, tough), but the cheese they used to drown the pasta was clearly not parmesan but probably the Tasty from the supermarket shelf. A good eatery would serve the cheese seperate so that customers can decide how much they like.

Pizza (Sir George) base actually is good and the toppings are not bad if you are after American (vs Italian) pizza. Drown everything in sauce, as Americans like to.

Beer was good (if you like Pilsner).

Atmosphere of the "little High Eatery" (basically a food court) is - well, lets say "rustical" ... and there might be some at face value nice looking corners to sit. However - it was winter, and the "little eatery" is a large place with plenty of openings where people constantly come in from the cold and go out - it was anything else but cosy. Felt a bit like a big train station on a lousy winter day. A constant cold draft is a good motivator to eat fast and go home.

Chairs don't motivate either to stay long .... they do have some resemblence to torture instruments. Wife still feels her back.

Maybe a trendy place for students with too much money to spend ... but we are unlikely to come back.

Date of visit: June 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heiko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed BASE Woodfired Pizza also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to BASE Woodfired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.