We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came here a Sunday nite with”

BASE Woodfired Pizza
Ranked #8 of 183 Quick Bites in Christchurch
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: We prepare and cook woodfired pizzas to order with only fresh and local ingredients. We provide vegetarian and gluten free options.
Reviewed 24 August 2020 via mobile

Came here a Sunday nite with friends, first time trying out this place. Gave the salmon & cream cheese pizza a go, sounded good especially with the capers.
Ended up being a little underwhelmed unfortunately; the pizza was a good size but a bit burnt all around the edge. The amount of smoked salmon was a really small slither on each slice, and with there being no cheese or tomato on it it ended up being mostly pizza base and therefore pretty dry. There was also no capers as stated in the menu... the best bit! I was with friends & small children seated at the other end, so I opted just to eat it rather than take it back (where the customers queueing up would have heard my comments). Sorry, probably sounds whingey but am just being honest

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank FushNChips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

Thanks for the feedback... Will look at our processes to see what went wrong with the quantity and the ingredients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2020

tastey affordable ,reasonable selection ,loaded fries are a big meal ,normally we share a Pizza with others no complaints

Date of visit: May 2020
1  Thank pikeyfromdunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2020

Thanks for the feedback 👍

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2020

We are regular visitors. Very poor service tonight - waited over an hour when told 30 mins. When went up to ask after 40 mins told it was on the oven and would be ready in 5 minutes. Other people were also complaining. Manager was rude. You’ve just lost valuable customers and ruined s family celebration.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank ChchLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2020

Good Evening, Fully expected this review and it is completely justified in parts. No excuses to give as the wait time was extremely long and inaccurately estimated. Extremely sorry that we contributed to ruining a family celebration.You were given an apology, and a refund. Just to put you in the picture ,our staff have not taken this lightly and it weighs heavy on them, so does being verbally abused by customers and called liars. Use of the word liar implies intent. I would have expected that as regular customers you would have recognised this evening was not a normal service for us, I would have appreciated a little more understanding from yourself and a little more empathy for the staff who tried to battle through a difficult service. Their intentions were always the best and make no mistake they were left feeling absolutely distraught after this interaction. They, totally recognised, how the wait affected your night, sorry to say however, you don't seem to afford them even a little of the same courtesy. Also please tell me how you determine a valuable customer?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2020

BASE has delicious pizza. I had the vegan mushroom pizza which is delicious. The milkshakes are good as well.

Date of visit: June 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank ec2005297
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2020

Thanks Guys

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2020

Had 3 pizzas take away between 7 of us with some fries and everyone really enjoyed them. Quite liked the seasoning on the fries, should have ordered two as they were demolished. Looking forward to trying the loaded fries next time. Thanks so much.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 23alanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BASEpizza, Owner at BASE Woodfired Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2020

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BASE Woodfired Pizza also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to BASE Woodfired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.