We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly, fast service. Super for vegetarians.”
Review of Dux Dine

Dux Dine
Ranked #54 of 1,221 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fresh, local seafood with vegetarian and vegan delights, Dux Dine has plenty to offer. Enjoy our delicious NZ Wines and Dux Craft Beers in our sunny garden, our warm conservatory or, on the colder days, next to one of our fireplaces.
Reviewed 5 December 2023 via mobile

Dux is great. A few reviews complain about slow service. Our experience was the opposite. It was a Tuesday night but the place was 75% full at 7.30pm. We had water on the table in minutes, great service, food and wine. We loved that there were 3 vegetarian mains as well as a load of proper fish dishes. The Arancini ball starters were a cut above most - rather delicious.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2023

We had a booking and went to a table on a not particularly busy night but the service wait time was horrendous. After being seated we were offered tap or sparkling and went with tap. Looked like only 1 or 2 staff members in the entire place and noone came to take our order (nor the couple next to use whom we were joking about it with). Eventually we had to get up and get the eye of the staff at the bar and eventually someone came over but at a 7pm booking noone came near us until 7:40. I know the restaurant is a bit pokey and we were in one of the rooms at the font of the restaurant but they need to adjust for that and come around every now and again. We decided to order everything at once in case we never saw them again so wines, food entree and mains and still waiting on the water. The meals then turned up surprisingly quick so the kitchen has their stuff together and wow the meals were incredible. Chowder was thick and full of seafood and the salmon was cooked to perfection. Still no water. So after one of the best meals we had in NZ we still had to rank it 3 stars as we walked out at 9:30 and still yet to see the water or a waiter.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scarcev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 November 2023

Have been numerous times over years and have given great reviews and recommendations to friends and colleagues.
But this experience was disappointing and to be honest have slowly seen it happen over last few visits.
Staff abrupt and rude slow service not even offering dessert or coffee at end.
Also portion sizes are noticeably smaller with prices going up.
As well as menu going increasingly fish orientated then in past this is personal and perhaps suits others.
Will not be in a hurry to go back.

Date of visit: October 2023
1  Thank Sven Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2023

Beautiful indoor and outdoor setting
Lovely food - I enjoyed the Dory
Busy restaurant, but meals were served fairly quickly.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kandasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ross Herrick, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2023

Hello Kandasg
Thank you for choosing to dine with us here at Dux Dine recently.
I'm pleased you enjoyed the food and atmosphere and thanks for taking the time to post your review.
Best regards
Ross Herrick
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2023

Our Experience for the 2 hour Bubbly Brunch was very under-whelming and disappointing, certainly not worth the $70 PP. We waited quite some time before being seated at our table even though we had booked weeks in advance. The Bread dips selection was literally just Pesto and garlic - and this was the actual highlight of our time there. The meals were lacking flavour to the point where nobody enjoyed/finished their meal. The meals also came to our table 1 hour & 47mins into our 2 hour package. The Waiter had initially told us he will come to refill our Wines every 15-20 mins however we waited about 45 mins between drinks (After us actually asking them to come and serve us) We politely complained to the Manager while paying and he did not seem to care. I wish we had gone somewhere else. The only positive is that most of the staff were nice.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Escape34596325469
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Dux Dine also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Dux Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.