We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch”
Review of Dux Dine

Dux Dine
Ranked #54 of 1,219 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fresh, local seafood with vegetarian and vegan delights, Dux Dine has plenty to offer. Enjoy our delicious NZ Wines and Dux Craft Beers in our sunny garden, our warm conservatory or, on the colder days, next to one of our fireplaces.
Reviewed 15 November 2020 via mobile

Have looked at this place a long time and finally went after being invited for lunch by a friend.
Food, service all excellent.
Will be going back soon to try more of the menu

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2020 via mobile

Had been recommended by nearby motel we were staying at. Made booking and met by friendly staff and shown to table. We were looking at seafood options with the fish of day changing during evening due to availability. Can recommend the whole flounder. Others all enjoyed their meals. Lovely building and nice atmosphere. Would definitely dine there again.

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank Crawf17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2020

The highlight of our meal was the bread and dips starter. The crumbed fish was ok if a wee bit overdone but the vegetarians' meals went from only ok to very poor which is surprising since the Dux have been doing veggies for decades.
This restaurant ain't the cheapest and you would expect a far higher standard than what we experienced. The coffee was pretty good.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 402rabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RossH716, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2020

Hello 402rabc
Thank you for visiting us recently and I am disappointed to read your review and especially how poor the vegetarian meals were, I sincerely apologise for this.
I would greatly appreciate it if you would take the time to email me directly at ross@thedux.co.nz with some specifics including what day and time you visited and what dishes were ordered.
Again, I sincerely apologise for your experience and hope we might get the opportunity to redeem.
Hope to hear form you soon and best regards.
Ross Herrick
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2020 via mobile

Never been here before. Great restaurant, not a huge menu, curtainly a great choice for lunch. All meals were fantastic. On site carparking. Nice friendly helpful staff.

Date of visit: July 2020
2  Thank pwld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2020

I can't say enough good things about the food here. We had mussels, chowder, and Akaroa Salmon. This was hands down one of the best meals of our whole trip. The ambiance of the restaurant was really nice too. Service was commendable. An all around amazing dining experience.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank erintravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Dux Dine also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Dux Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.