We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dux Dine

Dux Dine
Ranked #17 of 968 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Dux Dine is a reflection of the past but a move into the future. A contemporary feeling, with fresh local seafood and vegetarian delights, Dux Dine has plenty to offer. Our delicious New Zealand wines and Dux craft beers are certainly a crowd pleaser. Dux Dine is situated in a historic turn-of-the-century Villa that was originally the Station Masters House for the Riccarton Railway. The villa has been extensively but sympathetically reworked to provide a variety of spaces to be enjoyed whether it be an intimate candlelit dinner for two, a large group celebration at one of the huge Kauri tables, grabbing a morning coffee at the breakfast bar, enjoyi Dux Dine has many reminiscences of the iconic Dux de Lux yet new and fresh while remaining comfortably familiar. Many of the old favourites can be seen on the menu as well as exciting fresh new foods and ideas. Dux Dine offers many setting options, from relaxing in a lounge, formal table setting to sitting in our sun drenched court yard. Whether it be a small group, special lunch or dinner, corporate event, product launch or company celebration we can cater for your needs. As a company we are passionate about supporting the local businesses around us. The seafood served in the restaurant is frequently sourced from Akaroa, Stuart Island and the West and East Coast including Southern Glory Oysters. With the ever changing environment, Dux Dine is pleased to say that we are environmentally friendly. Coffee cups, take away containers, and menus are all recycled.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

One of my favourite restaurants in Christchurch, every time I've been here has been exceptional with service, food and ambience! Recommend to all! Even got my meat loving dad to try the haloumi salad!!!

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review, 21 June 2016
Hello Sarah B
Thank you for posting your review of your experiences with us here at Dux Dine.
I am pleased you have a favorite restaurant and especially so as it is ours, and well done you for getting your dad to step outside of his comfort zone.
WE're looking for ward to seeing you back again very soon and for a long time to come.
Best regards
Ross Herrick
General Manager
Dux Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    216
    67
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Didn't think would have bad service ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

I don't like writing reviews after all who the hell am I to judge. Was here for lunch on Tuesday. 7 of us. No one offered us water when we sat down. We had to ask for water. Food took its time coming out. I had baked fish. When the plates were collected I said to the waiting staff, I found fish scales on my plate. No sorry no nothing. Nice setting but most likely not to return.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Artikaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review, 16 June 2016
Hello Artikaran
Thank you for posting you review. I am disappointed to read our service obviously let us down on this occasion and have called a meeting to discuss this matter with urgency regarding some of the obviously simple things.
I do hope you might venture back some time and that our service has improved.
Best regards
Ross Herrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Dining Alone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2016

Very comfortable to dine alone at Dux Dine. Great menu and the vegetable side is generous and delicious.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank RAR1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review, 16 June 2016
Hello RAR1962
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding our offering and surroundings here at Dux Dine. I am very leased you enjoyed your experience and look forward to seeing you back again when you are next in Christchurch.
Best regards
Ross Herrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Wonderful food! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Came in today for a ladies lunch.the food was beautiful and very well seasoned. Service was okay but not amazing a little less attitude from the waitress would of been lovely. Thankyou everyone and great job chefs!!!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank samantha f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review, 16 June 2016
Hello samantha f
Thank you for posting your review of your ladies lunch yesterday.
While i am pleased you enjoyed your meals however will be following up with the staff regarding the less than satisfying service from one of our staff.
Thank you again and I do hope to see you back again some time soon.
Best regards
Ross Herrick
Genera Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
310 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2016

Lunch for 4.
Parking isn't the best around the area but we found one.
Had a nice table in the corner.
The food was tasty and everyone finished satisfied.
The place was busy but the volume wasn't too bad - we were able to talk as a group well.

The staff weren't as attentive as they could have been and I had to just about tackle the waiter to get another bottle of water.

But all in all it was a 'value' experiance with nice, well presented, interesting food in a relaxing venue.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review, 11 June 2016
Hello Wayne K
Thank you for posting you review of your recent lunch experience.
I am pleased you enjoyed the surroundings and our seafood and vegetarian fare.
I will be speaking with the staff regarding their attention to all guests and hope you will return to visit us again very soon.
Best regards
Ross Herrick
General Manager
Dux Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dux Dine also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Dux Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing