We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vegetarian and Fish at its Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dux Dine

Dux Dine
Ranked #17 of 956 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$24
Cuisines: Seafood, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Dux Dine is a reflection of the past but a move into the future. A contemporary feeling, with fresh local seafood and vegetarian delights, Dux Dine has plenty to offer. Our delicious New Zealand wines and Dux craft beers are certainly a crowd pleaser. Dux Dine is situated in a historic turn-of-the-century Villa that was originally the Station Masters House for the Riccarton Railway. The villa has been extensively but sympathetically reworked to provide a variety of spaces to be enjoyed whether it be an intimate candlelit dinner for two, a large group celebration at one of the huge Kauri tables, grabbing a morning coffee at the breakfast bar, enjoyi Dux Dine has many reminiscences of the iconic Dux de Lux yet new and fresh while remaining comfortably familiar. Many of the old favourites can be seen on the menu as well as exciting fresh new foods and ideas. Dux Dine offers many setting options, from relaxing in a lounge, formal table setting to sitting in our sun drenched court yard. Whether it be a small group, special lunch or dinner, corporate event, product launch or company celebration we can cater for your needs. As a company we are passionate about supporting the local businesses around us. The seafood served in the restaurant is frequently sourced from Akaroa, Stuart Island and the West and East Coast including Southern Glory Oysters. With the ever changing environment, Dux Dine is pleased to say that we are environmentally friendly. Coffee cups, take away containers, and menus are all recycled.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Vegetarian and Fish at its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2016

Had my son's 21st birthday here to accommodate the vegetarian and gluten-free guests in our party. Everyone loved their choices of food from the vegetarian and fish dishes on offer and even the meat eaters found dishes to satisfy. All the food was perfectly cooked, beautifully presented and good proportions. All meals were delicious. The atmosphere and intimate dining spaces for family groups was lovely, also sheltered outdoor dining was available. It is a definite revisit for this restaurant

  • Visited November 2015
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reuben376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Hello Reuben376
Thank you so much for your posted review regarding your celebratory dining experience with us.
It is great to read again that meat eaters can actually find something to satisfy on our Seafood and Vegetarian menu.
We look forward to seeing you back again very soon.
Best regards
Team Dux Dine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    212
    65
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

Pleasant meal with Great vegetarian options. Risotto was tasty but overdone. We edpecially enjoyed the cheese platter which was large enough for four.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Hello Marie H
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of us here at Dux Dine.
I am sorry you didn't enjoy our Arancini however the Antipasti sounds you need to come back with a couple more friends to share.
We do look forward to seeing you back again some time very soon.
Best regards
Team Dux Dine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2016

My friend and I decided to visit Dux Dine, as we were both fans of the Dux de Lux before the Christchurch earthquakes destroyed the original restaurant. So we had high hopes for Dux Dine. My friend ordered a terrine, which she enjoyed. I decided to order Spanikopita and wished I hadn't. I have had this dish in other greek restaurants but I was sadly disappointed with my dish as it had no flavor at all. There were children running around but that did not bother us. However, the noise level was ridiculous. My friend was sitting opposite but quite close, but we had to shout at each other to be heard. We could not get out of this restaurant fast enough. She said she'd go back but I definitely won't be.

  • Visited December 2015
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Astrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Hello Astrav
Thank you for posting your review of your recent experience with us here at Dux Dine.
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your dish however pleased your friend did.
I am also sorry you found the noise level too high however this is generally due to the sheer number of guests during most services as Dux Dine is a busy restaurant.
We look forward to your friend coming back and hope that they can entice you to try us again.
Best regards
Team Dux Dine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relaxing lunch setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2016

On a nice summer's day, the outdoor area with its fish pond is nice setting for a lunch. Food here can be very good, or just average, depending on the day. Even the same dish (e.g. the kids mac 'n cheese) can taste very different on different days. The fish dishes normally are very good. The Welsh rarebit was not so great, tasting like it had been pre-made, and with a big handful of undressed rocket (any time a chef puts undressed greens on a plate I know the rest of the plate won't be wonderful), and the mushrooms also had a shriveled texture.
Likewise, coffees can be very different depending on whoever is making it on the day. I guess more quality control is really what is missing here, as it can be good.

  • Visited April 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Hello chuckee
Thank you for your post regarding your most recent Dux Dine experience.
I am sorry this latest time wasn't up to our usual standard however that ovrall you enjoy Dux Dine on a regular basis.
we sincerely look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
Best regards
Team Dux Dine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loads of GF options, just be careful of the pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2016

Dux Dine is a gorgeous place with a range of lovely inside and outside dining options. As a family with some members who have Coeliac Disease, we have to choose where we eat with some degree of care. We've eaten at Dux Dine many times, and always loved it, but on our last visit we had an interesting experience with their GF pizza, which would have ended up covered in wheat flour (being rolled on the same bench and baked on the same surface as the other pizzas) if it hasn't been for an experienced waiter. Luckily this particular waiter overheard us asking our waitress our usual set of questions about cross-contamination (which she hadn't been able to answer and wasn't willing to find out for us), made enquiries with the kitchen, and arranged for the chefs to wipe down all the surfaces etc before making our pizza. I was really impressed with his knowledge and assistance and it meant that we could order the pizza and feel confident that we weren't going to get sick.

Although we would have just ordered something else if our questions hadn't been able to be answered, it did highlight the importance of training staff in allergy/coeliac awareness, particularly if you are going to list things as GF on the menu.

We love Dux Dine and will keep going back, but it'd be wise for anyone who can't eat gluten to ask questions and make sure that precautions are taken to avoid cross-contamination.

  • Visited December 2015
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Schdic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review, 27 April 2016
Hello Schdic
Thank you for your posted review and i am so very pleased one of our staff was able to assure your requirements. you are absolutely correct regarding the necessity to ensure nil cross contamination.
We will be addressing this with our staff with urgency and ensure staff know the answers to simple questions.
Thank you again for your post and we look forward to seeing you back very soon.
Best regards
Team Dux Dine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dux Dine also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Dux Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing