We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just doing their thing - great food and service”
Review of Cafe Valentino

Cafe Valentino
Ranked #47 of 1,232 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Benvenuti. Since 1991 Cafe Valentino has been one of Christchurch's favourite dining and drinking destinations, and it's easy to see why. Cafe Valentino offers superb food, an excellent bar and great atmosphere! Lunch at 3.00? Dinner at 9.00? No problem! Café Valentino is an all day restaurant. Enjoy a drink at the bar choosing from more than 35 selected wines by the glass, a superb range of local boutique beers and international beers on tap including an Italian selection. Or try a cocktail from our contemporary and classic mix. If you are a wine connoisseur try a wine from our 'Vault' collection which offers over 60 of New Zealand and Australia's finest wines including a great selection of our world famous Pinot Noir. Thirst quenched? Time for some great food! Try a pizza, the sort of pizza that only an Italian wood fired oven can produce, or try something from our pasta selection. Or perhaps one of our award winning New Zealand beef and lamb dishes. Since 1997 (except for 2012 when we were destroyed by an earthquake) Cafe Valentino has been awarded the coveted Gold Plate for New Zealand Beef and Lamb excellence. Finish off your meal with one of our delicious desserts, everything is made fresh daily on the premises. Our full menu is available on our website. We look forward to seeing you soon at Cafe Valentino. Ci Vediamo Presto
Reviewed 2 June 2024 via mobile

Food and service excellent as ever, came here for a family occasion and there’s something for everyone, the food is delicious and the service always friendly, looking forward to going back.

Date of visit: June 2024
Thank Tom-Shearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2024 via mobile

I’m sure this restaurant has changed hands as we were always really impressed with the service and quality of food.
This last visit was well below standard. Waitress brought food to the table and never served it just placed each dish in the middle of the table.
Totally unimpressed for the size of the bill.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank 234urn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023

Been to CV many times right from Colombo st days. Always consistently great. Deviated from normal pasta fav to chicken parmigiana… sooo tender ..just perfect. Rest had calamari lamb ribs breads etc. all very pleased.service impeccable.. a chch institution that’ll be long remembered

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2023

Beautiful food which arrived promptly the only letdown was drinks where incredibly slow after ordering

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank OnAir35043407032
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2023

We went to Cafe Valentino’s last night for dinner. My friend and I ordered pasta. It was so bland we had to put so much pepper and cheese on it to try and make it tasty. Even the parmesan cheese was tasteless. I'm pleased that we were at early table as I would have been very angry if I had had to pay the full price. I will not be returning.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NogoItaly2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cafe Valentino also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cafe Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.