We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesomeness!”
Review of Cafe Valentino

Cafe Valentino
Ranked #49 of 1,221 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Benvenuti. Since 1991 Cafe Valentino has been one of Christchurch's favourite dining and drinking destinations, and it's easy to see why. Cafe Valentino offers superb food, an excellent bar and great atmosphere! Lunch at 3.00? Dinner at 9.00? No problem! Café Valentino is an all day restaurant. Enjoy a drink at the bar choosing from more than 35 selected wines by the glass, a superb range of local boutique beers and international beers on tap including an Italian selection. Or try a cocktail from our contemporary and classic mix. If you are a wine connoisseur try a wine from our 'Vault' collection which offers over 60 of New Zealand and Australia's finest wines including a great selection of our world famous Pinot Noir. Thirst quenched? Time for some great food! Try a pizza, the sort of pizza that only an Italian wood fired oven can produce, or try something from our pasta selection. Or perhaps one of our award winning New Zealand beef and lamb dishes. Since 1997 (except for 2012 when we were destroyed by an earthquake) Cafe Valentino has been awarded the coveted Gold Plate for New Zealand Beef and Lamb excellence. Finish off your meal with one of our delicious desserts, everything is made fresh daily on the premises. Our full menu is available on our website. We look forward to seeing you soon at Cafe Valentino. Ci Vediamo Presto
Reviewed 29 December 2023

Been to CV many times right from Colombo st days. Always consistently great. Deviated from normal pasta fav to chicken parmigiana… sooo tender ..just perfect. Rest had calamari lamb ribs breads etc. all very pleased.service impeccable.. a chch institution that’ll be long remembered

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2023

Beautiful food which arrived promptly the only letdown was drinks where incredibly slow after ordering

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank OnAir35043407032
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2023

We went to Cafe Valentino’s last night for dinner. My friend and I ordered pasta. It was so bland we had to put so much pepper and cheese on it to try and make it tasty. Even the parmesan cheese was tasteless. I'm pleased that we were at early table as I would have been very angry if I had had to pay the full price. I will not be returning.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NogoItaly2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2023 via mobile

Sadly, a very disappointing evening, both service and food underwhelming. This used to be much better, obviously they are having staffing problems, food not up to usual standard. Our group will not be returning.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank TwoHungryghosts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2023

Amazing food with truly exceptional staff and great prices. The atmosphere and retro look added to our amazing experience. Truly a must visit if you are looking for Pizza and pasta in Ch-Ch

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cafe Valentino also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cafe Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.