We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, exceptional service”
Review of Cafe Valentino

Cafe Valentino
Ranked #47 of 1,232 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Benvenuti. Since 1991 Cafe Valentino has been one of Christchurch's favourite dining and drinking destinations, and it's easy to see why. Cafe Valentino offers superb food, an excellent bar and great atmosphere! Lunch at 3.00? Dinner at 9.00? No problem! Café Valentino is an all day restaurant. Enjoy a drink at the bar choosing from more than 35 selected wines by the glass, a superb range of local boutique beers and international beers on tap including an Italian selection. Or try a cocktail from our contemporary and classic mix. If you are a wine connoisseur try a wine from our 'Vault' collection which offers over 60 of New Zealand and Australia's finest wines including a great selection of our world famous Pinot Noir. Thirst quenched? Time for some great food! Try a pizza, the sort of pizza that only an Italian wood fired oven can produce, or try something from our pasta selection. Or perhaps one of our award winning New Zealand beef and lamb dishes. Since 1997 (except for 2012 when we were destroyed by an earthquake) Cafe Valentino has been awarded the coveted Gold Plate for New Zealand Beef and Lamb excellence. Finish off your meal with one of our delicious desserts, everything is made fresh daily on the premises. Our full menu is available on our website. We look forward to seeing you soon at Cafe Valentino. Ci Vediamo Presto
Reviewed 13 November 2022 via mobile

We had an early booking but there was no pressure to leave after we continued to stay for 3 hours!
I asked whether the reisling was sweet or dry - they bought me a tasting glass to try. I have never had that service before.
We all enjoyed our mains and desserts

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2022

Staff was very arrogant and we were told after dessert was served that we had to leave in 10 mins because there is a 90 mins timeframe for dinner. Refused to tell us his name when we intend to make a complaint. We found out his name is Dave from the receipt anyway.

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jennywan7281
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2022

The Chef at this restaurant uses top quality ingredients and a generous amount. The pizzas, in my view, are the best in Christchurch. The base is thin and crispy. My favourite is the mushroom. I also really like the Cannelloni and the seafood linguine. The Rua pinot noir is my favourite wine.

For visitor the the restaurant is only a five minute walk from the central bus exchange.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank dunnesmith298
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2022 via mobile

Being a family favourite for many years (pre-earthquake years), Cafe Valentino was the natural choice to celebrate a birthday in the family!

Paige, who looked after us, made our evening a memorable one by her hard work and friendly attention.

We had bruschetta as a starter, vegetarian Arabiatta pasta and a ‘special’ vegetarian pizza. All the items were delicious and well presented.

‘Special’ pizza because the chef and team there altered the ingredients to suit our likes and dislikes. This is the 2nd time Valentino team has made a custom made pizza for us, and both our experiences have been very good.

The place was busy, as expected, on a Saturday evening.

After a satisfying meal experience, we were happy we had chosen Cafe Valentino to celebrate a birthday in the family.

Date of visit: July 2022
1  Thank ShirishParanjape
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2022 via mobile

Had a lovely meal, great gluten free pasta too as this can often be hit and miss however I wouldn’t have know the difference, it was delicious. The waitress was friendly and very helpful, will definitely be back.

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank amy3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cafe Valentino also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cafe Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.