We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Excellent service.”

Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #28 of 1,221 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $39
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Sophisticated, sociable and relaxed, Fiddlesticks Bar & Restaurant is Christchurch's newest retreat. This distinctive centrally located restaurant and bar provides an inviting atmosphere in which to while away some time. Watch the street side activity while soaking up the ambiance in front of a roaring outdoor fire in our well sheltered courtyard, or join friends in one of the intimate dining spaces.Providing in-season, sensational local fare, the talented kitchen crew offer up a menu of beautifully cooked tasters and intriguing meals. Open from 8am for coffee and pastries, with a full menu served from 11am, or from 9am for brunch on weekends - Fiddlesticks is the perfect place to kick back and unwind in the heart of our city.
Reviewed 18 February 2024

visit the Art Gallery.
Cross the road for a great dinner.
Wonderful venison - correctly cooked MR. Lovely NZ claret. Total bill acceptable!

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robin042042
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erin Duck, General Manager at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Hi Robin042042,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know of your recent experience at Fiddlesticks. We love reading reviews like this!
We are so pleased you had a fabulous time and enjoyed our delicious food and personable service. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are back in Christchurch!

Kind regards,
Erin Duck
Group Venue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2024

We chose this restaurant to meet with friends and found it to be very friendly, with a good choice of food and drink. We enjoyed the tarakeihi fish and chips which were very tasty. It was busy so we had to leave our table after 2 hours, but they found us seats in the bar. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jenpar225
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erin Duck, General Manager at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Hi Jenpar225,
Thank you so much for your kind words and 5 bubble rating! We're so happy to know you enjoyed your meal and were looked after by our friendly service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again when you next visit Christchurch.

Kind regards,
Erin Duck
Group Venue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2024

We had an excellent meal. Everything was perfect and the service was the best ever. Wish I knew our persons name but she was charming, helpful and attentive, without being in your face. We took forever making decision's so she had to keep coming back but she seemed to make this no bother. We were offered a table inside or outside which was nice too. Waits for food was just right. At the end she let us split items on the bill - at all part of the evening she could have not been more helpful.
The decor is great - vibrant yet relaxing - nice art, chairs were comfy. My mango and chili margarita hit the spot and the others liked their drinks. The sticky satay cauliflower bites were fantastic - I would come back just to have these - and there were a decent portion too. All loved them. We also all loved the carrots - baby heirloom ones in a delicious sauce - once again - great portion. The lamb and the steak were also popular and we enjoyed the creme brulee dessert - but were too full for more than one dessert between us .
Will definitely be back - one advantage of this place is it meets the needs of people like me who prefers beautifully done veges and starters but also has the great meat dishes for the others in the group.
Accessibility is good - good location and no steps to get in.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iwishtotravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erin Duck, General Manager at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Hi Iwishtotravelmore,
Thank you so much for your comprehensive and delightful review - we love reading feedback like this!
Please know all your lovely comments will be passed along to our amazing team of chefs, bartenders and waitstaff.
We're so pleased you had a fabulous time at Fiddlesticks and we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another incredible evening.

Kind regards,
Erin Duck
Group Venue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2024

Raining steadily outside, and was glad the restaurant was warm and cosy. Staff attentive and friendly. Food served in a timely manner.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2024 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here on Saturday evening. We had called for a drink in the terrace in the afternoon and liked the ambience so returned in the evening. Very nice tempura fish and chips

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank annpQ3469NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.