We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiddlesticks Does Not Disappoint”

Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #28 of 1,221 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $39
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sophisticated, sociable and relaxed, Fiddlesticks Bar & Restaurant is Christchurch's newest retreat. This distinctive centrally located restaurant and bar provides an inviting atmosphere in which to while away some time. Watch the street side activity while soaking up the ambiance in front of a roaring outdoor fire in our well sheltered courtyard, or join friends in one of the intimate dining spaces.Providing in-season, sensational local fare, the talented kitchen crew offer up a menu of beautifully cooked tasters and intriguing meals. Open from 8am for coffee and pastries, with a full menu served from 11am, or from 9am for brunch on weekends - Fiddlesticks is the perfect place to kick back and unwind in the heart of our city.
Reviewed 7 August 2023

Fiddlesticks was a rainy evening in Canterbury perch that did not disappoint. The restaurant/bar was selected because seafood was on the menu. And, there were 3 main dishes to choose from. The midwek special was unusual -- Hake with prawns and calamari in a marinara sauce, which was surprisingly delicious as was the Akaroa salmon. the steak was yummy too. And all accompanied by a 2º pinot noir from Otago that was quite fine too. Dessert of homemade maple almond and carrot cake ice cream most sweetly was the perfect finish.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mediasenseNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erin Duck, General Manager at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2023

Hi Paradise,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent experience at Fiddlesticks. We are so pleased to know you and your guests had such a fabulous time at our little spot! Please know your feedback will be passed along to our amazing team and we look forward to welcoming you back for another meal, soon!

Kind regards,
Erin Duck
Group Venue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2023

We went to celebrate our wedding anniversary which we made notes of in the booking and staff didnt even mention it during the evening so was mildly disappointing. The mains were quite tasty but a side of vegetables was just pumpkin only which was a bit unexpected thinking it would be a mix of veggies at least. The deserts were lacking in flavour so also disappointing and then while eating desert the kitchen started blasting exceptionally loud hard rock music so it was hard to even hear each other talk in the restaurant section where we were sitting close by so we left and wondered if this was there intention all along! Wouldnt go back personally.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SDRJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erin Duck, General Manager at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Hi SDRJB,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent experience at Fiddlesticks. We appreciate any and all feedback from our guests.
It seems as though we have dropped the ball on this occasion, please accept our sincerest apologies that your meal and service was not up to our normal standard.
Please know our seasonal veg does change daily and is usually a dish consisting of one or two veg options and is usually explained by our staff on your arrival - i'm sorry if this was not done at your table. I will pass your additional feedback regarding the food directly onto our Executive Chef.
We would love to welcome you back at Fiddlesticks again - if you could please let me know directly at erin@maestrohospitality.co.nz I will ensure you and your guests are looked after properly.

Kind regards,
Erin Duck
Group Venue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2023 via mobile

We had bar service ordering a Braised lamb burger and the pea spinach and feta risotto. Both thoroughly enjoyed our meals while also enjoying a glass of red in the warm and cozy atmosphere. Staff very friendly. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank LynleyJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erin Duck, General Manager at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2023

Hi LynleyJ44,
Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed the new dishes featured in our winter menu! Please know we will pass along your comments to the staff as well.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2023

Went there for a 50th birthday with family and friends. Food was good, everyone was happy with what they ordered. Steak was cooked just right and the pork belly, delicious. We were not given an opportunity to order desert as they brought out the birthday cake which was pre delivered to the restaurant.
The only disappointing part of the dinner was they did not take the cake out to room temperature prior to serving, instructions were given ( $25 cakery charge) so the cake was hard and cold as it was butter based. Also we would have preferred to cut and serve the cake ourselves.

Wine choice was good and service was friendly

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LosaP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erin Duck, General Manager at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2023

Hi LosaP4,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback after your recent meal at Fiddlesticks. We are pleased that you had an overall pleasant experience at our beautiful spot, and enjoyed both the food and service.
Please know we will ensure your comments regarding the cake are passed onto our management team to review for future guests. We really appreciate your candor and constructive feedback.

Looking forward to welcoming you for another milestone dinner again soon!
Kind regards,
Erin Duck
Group Venue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2023 via mobile

Delicious food and very friendly staff. We ordered the lamb and salmon, fresh and well cooked. The wine was also very good.

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank 208taliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erin Duck, Owner at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2023

Hi 208taliac,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent meal at Fiddlesticks. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to having you back again soon!

Kind regards,
Erin Duck
Group Venue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.