We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food great service!”

Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #28 of 1,219 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $39
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Sophisticated, sociable and relaxed, Fiddlesticks Bar & Restaurant is Christchurch's newest retreat. This distinctive centrally located restaurant and bar provides an inviting atmosphere in which to while away some time. Watch the street side activity while soaking up the ambiance in front of a roaring outdoor fire in our well sheltered courtyard, or join friends in one of the intimate dining spaces.Providing in-season, sensational local fare, the talented kitchen crew offer up a menu of beautifully cooked tasters and intriguing meals. Open from 8am for coffee and pastries, with a full menu served from 11am, or from 9am for brunch on weekends - Fiddlesticks is the perfect place to kick back and unwind in the heart of our city.
Reviewed 6 June 2021 via mobile

This was fast, delicious and very good priced! Would return again! Of course have the fiddlesticks! Our server was Cory was friendly and great!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank sashadog24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keith A, General Manager at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Hello sashadog24,

Thank you for finding the time to write this lovely review! We are glad to hear how you rate our food and that the service you received was friendly, this is something we are always striving for here at Fiddlesticks! We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Lauren Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 75 of 1,747 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2021

Generally the food was reasonably good although I’ve definitely had better eye fillets elsewhere and others felt food standard was not as good as previous visits
However the service bordered on rude with the waitress solely focused on getting us through our meals as fast as possible so as to seat the next booking
Failed to explain the menu to start due to her impatience so did not provide a great experience
Two wine choices selected were out of stock so another disappointment
Won’t be rushing back

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Vacation511617
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keith A, General Manager at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2021

Good afternoon Vacation511617,

Thank you for finding the time to write us your review. I'm sorry to hear you felt the standard was not the same from your previous visits, I have passed this feedback onto our kitchen team. I am also sorry to hear you found the service rude. We never want customers to feel rushed off their table, however on some nights, especially weekends, we do turn over early dinner tables. I do apologise if this wasn't correctly explained to you, or the menu. We have had a rather busy couple of weeks with wine sales and do sometimes have trouble getting supplies in regularly, but I do apologise for the disappointment in not having the wines you originally wanted. Again thank you for finding the time to provide us with your feedback.

Kind regards,
Lauren Gibson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021

Dined for my partner's birthday on a weeknight and found our experience quite disappointing. We were seated out on the verandah behind the door which meant constant door opening and closing. Asked the waiter if we could move but got no response. I had the tempura fish which was not good - soggy batter and not at all tempura. My partner had the turbot which he enjoyed immensely. 2nd waiter who served us was very good and a lot more engaged than the first one. Creme brulee also a disappointment - topping tasted burnt. Overall not a great dining experience - maybe we just got a waiter on his off night and the kitchen on a bad night but as there are so many restaurants in Christchurch now, we would have to think twice before returing.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aotearoanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keith A, General Manager at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Dear Aotearoanz,

Thank you for finding the time to write this review. I'm sorry to hear you left disappointed, it is unfortunate that you didn't get a response for wanting to move, we are usually very flexible in doing this. I'm also sorry to hear the food items you did not enjoy however glad to hear you enjoyed the Turbot! I will be passing this feedback onto my kitchen team. In regards to the waiter and service, I would love to gather more information about when you dined too see who it was that served you. I hope to be able to get in touch with you, and to welcome to back to Fiddlesticks in the future.

Kind regards, Lauren Gibson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2021 via mobile

WOW, tonight exceeded all of our expectations. We had a group of 14 for our mums 80th. I organised this online because I live in the north island. Communication was prompt and easy. The service was incredible, thanks to the lovely Tuesday, she’s an asset to the restaurant. The food was amazing would highly recommend this establishment to anyone. Thanks Fiddlesticks 🙏❤️

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Miniqueballinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keith A, General Manager at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2021

Hello Miniqueballinger,

Thank you for finding the time to write such an amazing review for Fiddlesticks! We are delighted to hear you found are communication prompt and that your group enjoyed our food so much! Tuesday is also very excited to hear how much you enjoyed her service, she also enjoyed serving your group on Saturday! We cant wait to welcome you and your family back to Fiddlesticks in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2021

Lovely lunchtime experience. Waitress was excellent in asking for choices of when to bring dishes and checking to see if all was okay. Two of us had kumara soup which was superb; two of us had the turbot special and we agreed that it was the best meal we could remember eating. Another one had a steak which she said was cooked to perfection.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank judy1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keith A, General Manager at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2021

Hello judy1252,

Thank you for writing this amazing review for Fiddlesticks!
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our food and service. The Turbot is a special that changes daily so the chefs will be very glad you enjoyed that day's creation!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards, Lauren Gibson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.