We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average ”

Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #38 of 1,212 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$28
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sophisticated, sociable and relaxed, Fiddlesticks Bar & Restaurant is Christchurch's newest retreat. This distinctive centrally located restaurant and bar provides an inviting atmosphere in which to while away some time. Watch the street side activity while soaking up the ambiance in front of a roaring outdoor fire in our well sheltered courtyard, or join friends in one of the intimate dining spaces.Providing in-season, sensational local fare, the talented kitchen crew offer up a menu of beautifully cooked tasters and intriguing meals. Open from 8am for coffee and pastries, with a full menu served from 11am, or from 9am for brunch on weekends - Fiddlesticks is the perfect place to kick back and unwind in the heart of our city.
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Went for brunch this morning. The coffee was pretty bad/weak and after a 40min wait for food what we got was pretty average/bland. The staff were nice enough but probably wouldn't go back although generally their reviews are pretty good. Just goes to show you can't always rely on trip advisors reviews.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Mumblegrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith A, Owner at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Hi Mumblegrunt

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Sunday. It was a exceptionally busy day for us over the weekend with the School holiday programmes on around us. It is unfortunate that we did not meet our normal high level of great coffee and food on your visit at Fiddlesticks. How we manage the flow of customers and our kitchen times are key to a successful busy Brunch. We look forward to having you back in the future.

Kind Regards

K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

866 - 870 of 1,688 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We lunched at Fiddlesticks Restaurant on a cold and rainy day.
From the moment we walked thru the door, the room and staff were beautifully warm and inviting.
We chose a local wine recommended by our waitress and settled back with a delicious local seafood lunch. You cannot beat fresh local seafood produce accompanied by Kiwi wine.
In spite of the rain the Christchurch Art Gallery opposite stood as a outstanding example of the determination of the Christchurch people to rebuild their city.
A great restaurant well worth visiting on your next trip.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith A, Owner at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Hi Eric S

Thank you for the amazing review, it s very much appreciated. Great to hear you enjoyed our local produce and kiwi wine, wen are very lucky to have some exceptional wineries in Waipara. We look forward to having you back on your next trip.

Cheers K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

My husband and I went for an earlier dinner.... drawn in by the duck and vegetables for 2. It was delicious - duck falling off the bone, potatoes backed in such fat.. rather a ducky meal! Vegetables with slivered almonds. Wonderful.

Comfortable brown leather banquette and a fun green "grass wall".

Will continue to go there again and again.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Boobaby62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

We didn't have a reservation but they graciously accommodated the 4 of us.

The wait staff were very friendly and attentive, the food was excellent! Wine list very good.

Will definitely go again and happy to recommend to all.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank rawalker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Great service complement with good quality food. I look forward to a return visit. the meet the needs with gluten free choices and tastie food for the younger generation.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Senf27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith A, Owner at Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2016

Hi Sue F

Thanks for the great review and choosing us for your Birthday Lunch. Our gluten free menu is always a hit and our new dairy free menu has become very popular too.

Thanks again and look forward to having you back soon.

Cheers K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.