We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$143
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
prasadk27
Mumbai, India

Convenient, comfortable and great value!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Mar 2024
A fantastic accommodation option in Christchurch, Southwark stands out as an excellent choice. Its strategic location, only a 10-minute walk from the central shopping and sightseeing areas, combines the convenience of proximity with a peaceful ambiance. The surroundings offer tranquility, with supermarkets nearby for added convenience. Southwark impresses with its modernity, cleanliness, and remarkable value for money. Guests can enjoy the luxury of daily room servicing, and the presence of a superb cafe adjacent to the premises, caters to all breakfast and lunch needs, enhancing the overall experience. Southwark was the start point to my fabulous tour of the South Islands!
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    $150
  • Hotel Website
0.7 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$215
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $215
1.6 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$212
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $212
  • ZenHotels.com
    $187
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$161
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
$225
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
    $225
  • Commodore Airport
8.2 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$284
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $273
  • Expedia.com
    $284
9.7 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Booking.com
$199
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $190
  • Novotel
    $199
0.8 km from Southwark Apartments
Restaurant
Room service
Hotel Exterior
Booking.com
$191
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $177
  • Priceline
9.3 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $118
  • Algotels
    $109
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Southwark Apartments
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
153
155
87
37
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
153
155
87
37
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews within walking distance great shower the ground floor reception staff supermarket accommodation interchange fridge toaster laundry cbd cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 465 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2024 via mobile

If you want a quiet and good nights sleep, do not book here. The cafe next door has milk and all sorts delivered at 3am, 4am and 5 am…….. I called them to cancel our room as my son had surgery and they wouldn’t budge and very unhelpful on the phone. They make you pay for parking too. Plenty outside on the road !

Room tip: Don’t book.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Mrs Saddle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2024

There is not enough parking at this hotel, but this isn't clear when booking! you have to park and pay on the road or in an offsite car park, When the customer complains they just rely on the good old T&Cs and tell you that it was in an email.... Also we booked " A Deluxe Apartment" It looked like a shop unit that had been turned into a room. There was no windows apart from the front, and there were vans and truck parked outside covering the only light available. The fridge didn't have any Ice box and wasn't cold. please see pics

Room tip: Do yourself a favour, don't book this hotel if you are traveling by car!
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 051728mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on 1 Jan 2024. The location is quiet yet quite central with some supermarkets nearby (eg huge ParkNSafe). The room inside is very spacious, clean, cozy with air conditioner. There's one bed room with king bed and also twin beds on the upper floor (duplex design). There are 2 toilets and a well equipped kitchenette. We'd got all we needed.

The staff here are helpful and nice.

Christchurch is walkable and without interests to us frankly, for international flights only. So don't need to stay long.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023

Southwark is modern, clean and great value for money. We booked the 2 bedroom apartment that had an upstairs and downstairs.

We had a car so the location was great for us. Driving around never took longer than 10-15minutes to get to most places we needed to go.

Comfy bedding, quiet and good shower. It ticked all the boxes. So much so, that I'm booking it again for a family trip. Don't hesitate to book!

Room tip: Highly rated cafe close by - the cheese scones fly out the door in the morning!
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jani0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2023

Stayed a couple of nights after the train ride from Greymouth. Our room was very clean & comfortable, with a small kitchen area, but not much space to sit & eat. There is no lift, but the receptionist was happy to help with the bags !!
here is a guest laundry which worked well for us despite limited opening hours.
Hotel location is excellent - just a few steps from a good range of eateries, and about 10 min walk from age main bus exchange. Its a longer distance from the rail station, so we took a taxi.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews