We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$138
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Rach_lr
Singapore, Singapore

Simple, clean but really small

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Dec 2014via mobile
Generally good. Stayed in studio apartment.

Pros

1. southwark is the only apartment who proactively approached us about late arrival instructions e.g. the pin number etc. Very thoughtful.

2. A very clean apartment. New too. Things are sufficient.

Cons: the room is very small. The bed is small too. For 2 people it is quite bad. And the bed is against the window. Totally no space.
Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$323
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $280
  • Expedia.com
    $323
1.6 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$207
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $207
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $207
1.6 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$161
  • Tripadvisor
    $161
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $161
2.7 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    $118
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $118
0.5 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$225
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $217
  • Expedia.com
    $225
8.2 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
    $154
  • Hotels.com
    $178
0.7 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $151
  • Expedia.com
    $180
1.2 km from Southwark Apartments
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
Booking.com
$199
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $186
  • Novotel
    $199
0.8 km from Southwark Apartments
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$247
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $237
  • Expedia.com
    $247
9.7 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$191
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $177
  • Expedia.com
    $191
9.3 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
153
155
87
37
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
153
155
87
37
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews within walking distance great shower the ground floor reception staff supermarket accommodation interchange fridge toaster laundry cbd cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 465 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2014

We had asked for a 2 bedroom apartment but in my mind it isn't really 2 bedrooms. The 2 nd room is on a mezzanine floor but is open to the lounge below along one whole side of room and open to the kitchen area along part of the other wall. This meant there was no privacy or way of blocking light or noise from below. We were staying with another couple so not ideal. The bed on the mezzanine was comfortable BUT there is a huge skylight that runs directly above the bed. There is no curtain or blind and on a night with a full moon it was difficult to sleep. In fact I could read by the light of moon. There was a bedside light but it didn't work as the nearest power point was too far away. The other couple found their room comfortable.
The apartment is up some steep and narrow stairs so if you have mobility issues please be aware of this

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Artkatnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2014

Thanks to all at Southwark Apartments for helping to make our time in Christchurch a great experience. The apartment was very clean and well equipped; staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for accommodation within easy walking distance of the CBD. We'll be back!

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tania W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2014

The Southwark Aptartment was very clean with modern appliances. The laundry facilities were great. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The location was not perfect but all the major attractions were within walking distance and the city bus system was very efficient.

Room tip: Any room would be fine.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pygmalion14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2014

I will never stay there again.
I was bitten all over my body by BedBugs.
It was supposed to 4 star apartment, but I would not give it even one star.

Rooms are extremely small, bed was uncomfortable and it looked really cheap.

Cheap places in China look exactly the same.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2014

Stayed here when we first arrived in Christchurch and was pleasantly surprised at how clean comfortable and modern this hotel is. The staff were very helpful. The hotel's located centrally to the rest of the city so it was easy to get to shops and restaurants. Ended up staying here again at the end of our holiday and was so happy they had a room available. Prices were very reasonable and I had everything I needed in the room including free wifi.

Room tip: Rooms on ground floor are next to laneway access therefore a bit of a privacy issue.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SouthwarkApts, Front Office Manager at Southwark Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear TracyV,

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Southwark Apartments.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews