We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sue F
Toronto, Canada

Bed Bugs everywhere

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Nov 2014
I will never stay there again.
I was bitten all over my body by BedBugs.
It was supposed to 4 star apartment, but I would not give it even one star.

Rooms are extremely small, bed was uncomfortable and it looked really cheap.

Cheap places in China look exactly the same.
Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $268
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $195
  • Algotels
1.0 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $154
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$169
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $169
2.7 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $185
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Southwark Apartments
Restaurant
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $232
  • Vio.com
1.2 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$250
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $250
8.2 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $293
  • Expedia.com
    $300
9.7 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $114
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Southwark Apartments
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $109
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveller rating
153
155
87
38
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
153
155
87
38
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews within walking distance great shower the ground floor reception staff supermarket accommodation interchange fridge toaster laundry cbd cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 466 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2014

Stayed here when we first arrived in Christchurch and was pleasantly surprised at how clean comfortable and modern this hotel is. The staff were very helpful. The hotel's located centrally to the rest of the city so it was easy to get to shops and restaurants. Ended up staying here again at the end of our holiday and was so happy they had a room available. Prices were very reasonable and I had everything I needed in the room including free wifi.

Room tip: Rooms on ground floor are next to laneway access therefore a bit of a privacy issue.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SouthwarkApts, Front Office Manager at Southwark Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear TracyV,

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Southwark Apartments.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2014

This complex was a new one for us in Christchurch. We like to stay in quality accommodation at very reasonable prices. We booked on line and phoned to range another bed for our daughter who decided at the last minute to stay with us. They were very helpful in arranging this.

The unit is long and narrow, a bit like a mobile home, but very comfortable with quality fittings and everything you need for a comfortable stay. There is a separate shared kitchen with large TV and sitting area. Access is a little awkward outside of the office hours so double check how you get in before you arrive if arriving outside office hours.

A very clean and tidy building right in the center of the city. Parking is a premium, but you can buy a parking space for overnight, check this out with the office.

At the time of this review, there is a huge building going up right next door, so early morning building sounds will be heard Monday to Saturday. Noise restrictions in this area are probably 7.00am to 6.00pm, so if you need a sleep in look for somewhere away from construction, but in Christchurch at this time and probably for the next few years, the whole city is a building zone.

Thumbs up to this place from me.

Room tip: Ask for a room close to the stairs/lift as there is a very long narrow corridor
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SouthwarkApts, Front Office Manager at Southwark Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2014

Dear ThomasR,

We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay at our Apartments.

We do our best to inform all our guests checking in outside the office hours about the procedures to follow, specially if they had advised in advance of they expected arrival time. We shall make it easier in a closer future.

Regarding the construction next door, Southwark Apartments are excited to announce additional facilities are under way with a new building comprising 20 additional suites and large reception area, guest lounge, and other features, including baggage store, a sun deck, lawn area and under cover parking. Once this extension is complete (forecast August 2015) we will then be underway on a final building adjacent which fronts onto St Asaph St, which includes provision for a café for breakfasts, lunches & room service.

These additions complement our existing 33 suite building which was architecturally designed to capture all day sun and a quiet relaxed environment for guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights to attend a work conference. I enjoyed my stay very much. Reception staff very polite and helpful. It was a small room but clean and practical design. Also nice and warm. Had everything I needed. I would stay here again.

There are several restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Also a countdown which takes about 10 minutes to walk to.

Room tip: I stayed on the bottom level and found it quiet - but in saying this, the building next door was in the process of being constructed.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jest0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2014

There is nothing special about this hotel but I didn't find any major disappointment either. The room is clean and comfortable although it's quite small. The bed is also quite small but it's clean and comfortable. The service is pretty basic but the staff were quite responsive to any request for assistance. The downside of this place is there is no free parking.

I'm not sure if it's the best place for stay in Christchurch but I'd recommend the place if you can get good price.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2014

4 star apartments - what a joke

No kitchen ,no curtains for windows, 10 sqm space in the room,
bed linen washed in domestic laundry
The same you may pay to use if you need wash your own clothes

The most uncomfortable bed

No airconditioning!!!

Room tip: Look around get a motel
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterPolak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews