We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$136
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Thundera

Great location and clean

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Oct 2014
My husband and I stayed for 2 nights. We found the apartment very clean and modern. It was close to the CBD and countdown. The staff were helpful and friendly. The apartment was well equipped. Only negative was the water pressure in the shower was very strong. Though not a major problem it was hard to control the shower head. Overall would recommend staying here.
Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$323
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $323
  • Agoda.com
    $288
  • Expedia.com
    $323
1.6 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$207
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $233
  • StayForLong
    $193
  • Expedia.com
    $207
1.6 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$161
  • Priceline
    $161
  • Expedia.com
    $161
  • Hotels.com
    $161
2.7 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$225
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $225
  • Vio.com
    $216
  • Hotels.com
    $225
8.2 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $118
  • Vio.com
    $105
  • Expedia.com
    $118
0.5 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $174
  • StayForLong
    $167
  • Hotels.com
    $179
0.7 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $172
  • Vio.com
    $110
  • Expedia.com
    $180
1.2 km from Southwark Apartments
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
Booking.com
$199
  • Novotel
    $199
  • ZenHotels.com
    $181
  • Priceline
    $199
0.8 km from Southwark Apartments
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$247
  • Priceline
    $247
  • ZenHotels.com
    $230
  • Expedia.com
    $247
9.7 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$191
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $197
  • ZenHotels.com
    $176
  • Expedia.com
    $191
9.3 km from Southwark Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
153
155
87
37
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
153
155
87
37
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews within walking distance great shower the ground floor reception staff supermarket accommodation interchange fridge toaster laundry cbd cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 465 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2014

After spending 3 weeks in a voluntary house on the west coast shared by 10 people these apartments were just what I needed. Clean, comfortable, affordable. Not the biggest room but that didn't matter to me. Great shower and decent bathroom, double bed with flat screen TV, 3GB of wifi which is more than enough, toaster kettle fridge ironing board etc etc with cutlery and mugs. Ideal for those who want to buy little snacks they can make for their day ahead. Had no disturbances so I was very pleased.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank eddyfarnworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and we loved it. Clean accomodation and well equipped for overnight stay. It is ideally located and not too far from the airport.
The management handle late arrivals is ideal and no fuzz.
Highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2014

My family and I arrived at 1am from a flight from overseas, well after the reception had closed. We advised that in our booked and received clear instructions on how to access the reception and our room.

It was seamless for us and we found our room to be a higher quality than we expected for a ver reasonable price. We had a 2 bedroom apartment. Room was very clean, modern and new.

As with many hotels in Christchurch next door seems to be a building site, but we have no issues with that knowing the sad recent history of this lovely town.

All in all, very happy with our choice to stay here.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AngiePx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 September 2014

My husband and I stayed at Southwark Apartments for one night on our recent trip to New Zealand. We found the service great and our room was perfect for what we needed. It was both clean and modern, and in perfect walking location to the center of Christchurch where the rebuild of the city appears to be in full swing.

Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 17rebekkahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 September 2014

I booked last minute after winning concert tickets and my main criteria for choosing Southward Apartments were price (less than $100) and location (close to central city). Check in was a breeze, taking only about 2 minutes, and the room was easy to find on the ground floor. The room was very small - the exact width of the bed with no room at either end - but clean and had all the usual amenities, including a kitchenette. The bathroom was equally small but very clean. Sleep quality wasn't great due to the thin walls but overall I think the rate was reasonable for what I got. The free Wifi was a bonus!

Room tip: There are no elevators so people with difficulty walking may prefer a ground floor option. Parking is not a problem and even if the car park is full there are many parking lots nearby charging as little as $4/day
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews