We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek food as it should be!”

Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar
Ranked #16 of 1,232 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Costas Taverna is a place to celebrate the simple joys in life... family, friends, conversation and great food.
Reviewed 4 May 2024 via mobile

Lovely meal at Costas Taverna. We are Greeks from London and the souvlaki lived up to expectations. Definitely worth a visit, we had a lovely meal together f the mega Greek souvlaki platter followed by a mini blaklava.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank Maria50Mike50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2024 via mobile

Have visited here a few times and always fantastic service. Delicious food. Would love it if there was a smaller version of the souvalaki platter as the regular is massive.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Charliepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2024

Lovely obliging staff, wheelchair needs accommodated without fuss. Food excellent, all 6 diners were very impressed. Two birthdays were acknowledged with free mini desserts, candles and Happy Birthday serenade. A lovely evening!

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Llane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

Excellent service from all staff plus top quality food for our party of five. A packed restaurant but our food all arrived quickly and fresh. Good menu choices which should suit all tastes.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank merlin2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2024 via mobile

Catching up with old friends and no better place to go than Costas. The food is delicious and the atmosphere relaxed. My wife and I shared a souvlaki mega platter which lived up to its name and our friends had a souvlaki each. With a few drinks each the meal came to just over $200 which is outstanding value for 4 of us. Shout out to our server Lucinda who looked after us with the right mix of knowledge and humour.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank PaulT3479
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.