We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Greek meal”

Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar
Ranked #16 of 1,220 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Costas Taverna is a place to celebrate the simple joys in life... family, friends, conversation and great food.
Reviewed 21 February 2023

We had moussaka and kleftiko, with a Greek salad and some local red wine. We aren't experts on Greek food but it seemed pretty authentic, and was certainly very tasty. My wife loved the lamb in her Kleftiko. Servings were generous, staff were friendly and attentive. Prices I thought were a bit high, but we certainly enjoyed our meal there and would go again.

Date of visit: February 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank evets1232016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2023 via mobile

Delicious food and lovely service. Gluten free options (including gluten free pita bread—delicious) were clearly identified and there were many choices for a gluten free meal.

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank BetsyM117
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2022 via mobile

I hadn't been back for a couple of years, but Costas is as good as ever.

Fantastic food, such a variety at a reasonable price. The platters give a little bit of everything - all of it delicious.

Meg's service was friendly and knowledgeable. She was very happy to check on ingredients to keep our guest with nut allergies safe.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank NathanM2737
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2022

A wonderful meal, with great service and lovely food.
Staff were attentive.
Also recently had a take away souvlaki that was great.

Date of visit: October 2022
1  Thank 375ande
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2022 via mobile

Excellent Greek food, family quality style.

Compared to The Athens Yacht Club I would rate this Greek restaurant as a brilliant and excellent family restaurant quality. It is is 5/5 for what they are aiming for, which I feel as if is a 3-4 star styled restaurant. It isn’t flash, up market, classy or posh. Where is The Athens Yacht Club is.

We really enjoyed Costa’s food though.

The service wasn’t very friendly, welcoming or charming though sadly, they appeared to be all a bit indifferent to our custom.

The décor wasn’t anything impressive nor did it have the wow factor, again, family restaurant class.

The food was delivered promptly and was nicely presented, again, family restaurant class.

The quality of the food was perfect, it was delicious and fresh.

We don’t live this side of town and so wont be returning.

However, if you like Greek food then do put it on your list of places to dine as it was very good, for a family restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank SD2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.