We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choice Costa’s”

Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar
Ranked #16 of 1,232 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Costas Taverna is a place to celebrate the simple joys in life... family, friends, conversation and great food.
Reviewed 7 October 2022 via mobile

Excellent Greek food, family quality style.

Compared to The Athens Yacht Club I would rate this Greek restaurant as a brilliant and excellent family restaurant quality. It is is 5/5 for what they are aiming for, which I feel as if is a 3-4 star styled restaurant. It isn’t flash, up market, classy or posh. Where is The Athens Yacht Club is.

We really enjoyed Costa’s food though.

The service wasn’t very friendly, welcoming or charming though sadly, they appeared to be all a bit indifferent to our custom.

The décor wasn’t anything impressive nor did it have the wow factor, again, family restaurant class.

The food was delivered promptly and was nicely presented, again, family restaurant class.

The quality of the food was perfect, it was delicious and fresh.

We don’t live this side of town and so wont be returning.

However, if you like Greek food then do put it on your list of places to dine as it was very good, for a family restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank SD2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2022 via mobile

Fabulous food and service. Nothing was ever an issue and the wait staff are brilliant . Many thanks once again for a sumptuous meal and service. Will happily visit again.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank z0ef68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 October 2021

What a disappointment from one of my favourite restaurants. It was nothing like the original takeaway - hardly any lettuce, it looked sad and scrawny and was not at all satisfying. Nothing like the lovely ones made by the friendly gentleman all those years ago at Costas in Armargh Street

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Maree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2021

I travel and eat out often, when i am not traveling i am a keen at home cook so i believe a good judge of food. Costas was outstanding, from the minute we walked in the door till we left there was absolutely nothing i could fault.
we were a party of three and all of the food served to us was outstanding.
this was complemented by the friendly service and the warm surroundings. Really cant recommend enough, well done to establishment, i will be back and will be recommending to others.

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Annie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2021 via mobile

Consistently excellent

Costas Taverna is one of our favourite restaurants and every visit confirms why!

Tonight, we tried a new dish - warm vegetable salad with falafel- it was sumptuous and delicious.

The breads and dips as starters were equally good.

A pleasant surprise was a mini dessert- chocolate mousse - to mark my wife’s birthday!

We were well looked after by Maddy and Liam.

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank ShirishParanjape
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.