We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food”

Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar
Ranked #15 of 1,225 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Costas Taverna is a place to celebrate the simple joys in life... family, friends, conversation and great food.
Reviewed 14 March 2020

Excellent food,great portions and great service definitely go back in the future pay to book as busy place

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2020

Not being from Christchurch and with many restaurants in town we don't often eat at the same place 3 times but this one is good. If you like Greek food then you will like Costas.
They have a great menu of well cooked and presented food served by a friendly staff.
Busy on a Monday night.
Plenty of car parking and easy to find.

Quite a few groups in tonight and groups generally generate more noise but the room seems to handle it well - as a small group (5) we were still able to converse easily.

The end result was 5 happy diners!

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WayneK160
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2020

Lovely evening here with the family. The food was amazing & delicious and I can't wait to go back and try more. We had a range of food, the eggplant entree and calamari was beautiful and the mains (lemon chicken, souvlaki, prawns, lamb salad) were not only delicious but looked so mouth watering. You must also try the greek mojito, mouth watering!

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Kitsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

All my food was wonderful. I had Squid as an entree and moussaka as a main. I also had a couple of their mini desserts. Staff were lovely and portions generous. Will return!

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank jacquit_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2020

Its been over a year since we visited Costa's and we were hoping the experience would be a positive one. Unfortunately, the poor service only reminded us about why we have stopped being of their regular diners. We were seated promptly, our drinks order taken without delay and the wine arrived quickly. Then .. we waited 30 minutes to have our food order taken. We were told that if we wanted to order anything other than souvlaki then there would a 25-30 minute wait for the meals. Then we were told that there was only one serving of the beef souvlaki available because there had been a 'big run' on the dish that evening. We found this surprising given we were seated at 6pm. Regardless, we all ordered souvlaki and were reasonably pleased with the meals - when they arrived 35 minutes later. When we enquired about the delay we were told it was a busy night and the kitchen was struggling. A quick look around the half empty restaurant made us wonder how they would cope if was full.

We have fond memories of lovely evenings at Costa's in the past. Sadly, those days seem to be over. With so many great dining choices available in Christchurch and so much competition, we have to wonder how long Costa's will survive unless it picks up it's act.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lola122014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CostasTaverna, Owner at Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2020

Hi Lola122014,
Thanks for your feedback!
We would just like to clarify to anyone reading this review, that we believe your bad mood began when you entered the restaurant and realised that you'd be seated at a high table, not a low table. Your friend, Neill Pickard, rang us just before you came in, to make a very last minute booking - he was informed that you'd be seated at a high table in our bar-dining area, as we were fully booked. It seems he failed to mention this to you, because you were horrified at the thought of a high table when you arrived.
Your drink orders were taken at 5.56pm - we gave you time to look over your menus and your meal orders were taken at 6.19pm. Your waitress had other tables to look after - your table was not the only one dining on this night. As a matter of fact, we served close to 100 people during this service.
You were informed that three of our main dishes take half an hour - not all items except the souvlaki platters. The only dishes that take half an hour, are our Moussaka, the Kleftiko and a Well Done Steak. As for running out of beef patties, sometimes this happens in restaurants on busy nights when one particular item is more popular than others. We were open from 5pm and it seems everyone wanted beef souvlakis on this day. This didn't affect you, as you didn't want the beef patties.
We are pleased to say that we have many loyal customers, many of which are regulars that dine with us weekly, for us to believe that you need not worry yourself about our survival. :)
Thanks again for your feedback! Have a wonderful weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Costas Taverna Greek Restaurant and Ouzo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.