We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multi generational, funky, exquisite dining.”
Review of King of Snake

King of Snake
Ranked #34 of 1,228 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: King of Snake offers the best of Euro-Asian cuisine in a stunning 5-star contemporary setting. Enjoy the panoramic view over Cashel Mall, the Bridge of Remembrance, and the willow tree lined banks of the Avon River. Whether you want a full a la carte dining experience, cocktails and nibbles at the bar or simply a cold beer on the deck, King of Snake is sure to delight.
Reviewed 26 March 2024 via mobile

Multi generational, funky, exquisite dining. From the layout, to the music to the range and delights of the menu. Superb.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Connector37962600284
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2024 via mobile

Fantastic food and customer service. The menu was great with plenty of options. An excellent experience and highly recommended

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2024 via mobile

We really enjoyed this place. Ordered the “Trust the King” option on the menu to add some mystery to our experience. We were not disappointed! Yellow curry was excellent, although a bit milder than I usually get. Duck was cooked perfectly. Do not miss the fried eggplant appetizer!

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Marco1961b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2024

I booked online for a Tuesday evening. I was put on Stand-by. And that was it. There was no further contact. Absolutely nothing. It would appear that unless you're prepared to dine before 5.30, a booking cannot be made.
This was to be a special evening for our business, but we were forced to go elsewhere because a total lack of communication. Who knew Tuesday nights were SO busy?

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank MadeleineR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2024

We booked a table on the balcony on a warm and balmy night in February. Great for people watching!

We started with cocktails - try the Millionaire's Mojito, it's delicious.

The menu is extensive and lends itself to sharing and we had most things covered between us. The rib of beef was a stand-out, but nothing disappointed and was bursting with flavour. Desserts were amazing - take a look at the photo.

Service was excellent - friendly and efficient.

We finished up the evening with Espresso Martinis. A perfect night.

About 300 pound sterling.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Decath_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed King of Snake also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to King of Snake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.