We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss”
Review of King of Snake

King of Snake
Ranked #35 of 1,222 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: King of Snake offers the best of Euro-Asian cuisine in a stunning 5-star contemporary setting. Enjoy the panoramic view over Cashel Mall, the Bridge of Remembrance, and the willow tree lined banks of the Avon River. Whether you want a full a la carte dining experience, cocktails and nibbles at the bar or simply a cold beer on the deck, King of Snake is sure to delight.
Reviewed 2 January 2024 via mobile

Average. Been wanting to go here for long time. We were lucky to get a seat at the bar as we didn't book. Cocktails were wonderful and it was fun to watch them being made too. The tofu in sauce was amazing, however the chicken wings were bland and the sticky wontons were the driest I gave ever had. I'm not sure what pastry or cooking method you are using but they were bad! Even the insides were dry. Certainly not sticky beef by any stretch of the imagination. I complained to 3 people and they all did nothing. One thing I noticed due to being close to the till was the amount of people who had added items on to their bill was alot. Im not sure if there is a pos issue or what but check your bill's folks, we had an extra meal added to our bill that we didn't order and I overheard at least 2 others with similar in the 1.5 hours or less we were there. Pretty poor service really. Only the mixologist was friendly.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank pixienico
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2024 via mobile

Quality meal, good cocktails, very good wine. We were surprised by the different dishes that were included in the kings choice. Nice service, when in Christchurch really worth to spend an evening at the king of snake

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank 169philipv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 December 2023

We have been to KOS many times and love the flavours and the fantastic environment.
Sadly this last visit the awesome food and atmosphere was ruined by the poor service. We have gone as a group many times and usually leave looking forward to our next visit. This time when we left we were all talking about the grumpy and rushed service.
The food was typically fantastic, but was massively letdown by a couple of angry (rushed) waitresses...
Orders seemed a problem and everything arrived at once, literally dropped on our table. Hopefully this is sorted before we come back.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Thank C6969TTphilipw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 December 2023 via mobile

Lovely meal and setting. Food choice was amazing and the staff were great. The only thing I would suggest (this is not a criticism) is they add Prosecco to the drinks list. This is one of the fastest growing drinks by popularity in NZ - a bit lighter than the traditional bubblers and champagnes, (we were there for lunch).

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2023 via mobile

Great fusion food with best views of river but very expensive. Staff were good too but please make booking in advance as they are very busy during peak hours and may have to wait for sometime.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank zen31999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed King of Snake also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to King of Snake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.