We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened?”
Review of King of Snake

King of Snake
Ranked #35 of 1,224 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: King of Snake offers the best of Euro-Asian cuisine in a stunning 5-star contemporary setting. Enjoy the panoramic view over Cashel Mall, the Bridge of Remembrance, and the willow tree lined banks of the Avon River. Whether you want a full a la carte dining experience, cocktails and nibbles at the bar or simply a cold beer on the deck, King of Snake is sure to delight.
Reviewed 27 December 2023

We have been to KOS many times and love the flavours and the fantastic environment.
Sadly this last visit the awesome food and atmosphere was ruined by the poor service. We have gone as a group many times and usually leave looking forward to our next visit. This time when we left we were all talking about the grumpy and rushed service.
The food was typically fantastic, but was massively letdown by a couple of angry (rushed) waitresses...
Orders seemed a problem and everything arrived at once, literally dropped on our table. Hopefully this is sorted before we come back.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Thank C6969TTphilipw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2023 via mobile

Lovely meal and setting. Food choice was amazing and the staff were great. The only thing I would suggest (this is not a criticism) is they add Prosecco to the drinks list. This is one of the fastest growing drinks by popularity in NZ - a bit lighter than the traditional bubblers and champagnes, (we were there for lunch).

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2023 via mobile

Great fusion food with best views of river but very expensive. Staff were good too but please make booking in advance as they are very busy during peak hours and may have to wait for sometime.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank zen31999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023

This was a special gift and we enjoyed our experience very much. This is not the first time to This venue and will not be the last.
Excellent service and atmosphere was very special. Thanks

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank GraemeR292
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2023

We were told by our Amiki Tours guide, Riwai, that this was the best restaurant in all of Christchurch. He was definitely not wrong. We could not get a reservation, so we tried walking in early; and we were promptly seated at the bar. Really, really good Asian fusion food; and since we were seated at the bar, a comprehensive course in NZ alcoholic beverages. Everyone should eat here if they are in Christchurch to enjoy a good meal.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamesl680
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed King of Snake also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to King of Snake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.