We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must Thai this!”

Kum Pun Thai Restaurant & Beer Garden
Ranked #46 of 1,221 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Reviewed 31 October 2023 via mobile

OK, that’s the obligatory pun out of the way, but it’s true. Their website boasts the crown of most authentic Thai restaurant in Christchurch and I can’t deny this claim.
We started with a sharing plate of Pad Thai spring rolls matched with a tangy tamarind sauce. They were truly to “Thai for”, (OK, OK, I’ll stop now), but at least you can appreciate our enthusiasm for these crunchy morsels.
Our table server had checked and double checked the level of spiciness required in our curries and we weren’t disappointed. My Beef Massaman curry was beautifully presented, as was my partner’s Green Chicken curry. A good serve of steamed rice was complimentary with each. This was a pleasant surprise for us as the rice component is invariably an extra cost, back home in Australia. Both meals were promptly presented and absolutely delicious with tender pieces of meat, balanced veggies and perfectly spiced sauces, exactly to our preferences. A polite enquiry by our waitress, after we had started, to confirm if everything was to our liking, was an example of their guaranteed quality service.
We’re looking forward to returning very soon to further explore the menu and enjoy their wonderful atmosphere and service.

Date of visit: October 2023
1  Thank Critical_Image
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2023 via mobile

Great food & excellent service, nice decor, with the tables no too close together.We both had Pad Thai, the servings are very generous & delicious! Small selection of wine by the glass.

Date of visit: October 2023
1  Thank Pumpkin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2023 via mobile

Loved this place for Thai food
Friendly staff
Great cocktails
Amazing food
Easy to find location
Busy but excellent service

Date of visit: September 2023
1  Thank sue_rudduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2023 via mobile

Great food, atmosphere and service. Was close to hotel and we stumbled across it. Exactly what we needed and good value. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2023
1  Thank S5188KRstevev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2023

Yum food great service happy staff atmosphere great Choo Chee prawns delicious not too hot had a Pinot gris nice wine

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 462DebJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Kum Pun Thai Restaurant & Beer Garden also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Kum Pun Thai Restaurant & Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.