We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value, reliable and friendly staff”
Review of Aotea Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aotea Motel
Ranked #81 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Highlights of my stay with Aotea include:
- very responsive communication with staff
- fresh and clean rooms and bedding
- stove, cooking utensils, fridge, complimentary tea and coffee, tv, free wireless internet, taxi discount
- a very low price
- and a great outdoor spa

I could not have asked for more.

My fiancee made use of the laundry, also for free.

Only point that I'd mention is that internet use is free up to 400mb in total across all users. If you're a heavy internet user then it will start to cost a bit. An easy work-around is to buy a sim and share the internet from your phone.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom apartments are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2017

We have a two room apartment for 6 people. The apartment is clean. The kitchen is simple, but only for easy cooking. The water is very small in the shower room. Generally speaking, it is a budget stay,

Room Tip: budget stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

slightly older units with some minor quake repairs still to be carred out, the owners were very nice, the unit we had was spacious and very clean and tidy, kitchenette,lounge, and seperate bedroom shower and toilet. Great value for money. would stay again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

I have stayed here a couple of times and always found it very clean and tidy and in a great location.
Although the decor is a little tired, I am only sleeping there not living there, so it is fine
Annette, is always very friendly and ready to help.
I will definitely stay there again and again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janetteian344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61AnnetteO, Manager at Aotea Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

This was comfortable enough. Bathroom set up was very strange and small but generally okay. Very suitable for a one night stay. There is no free wifi though and in today's day and age I think this is strange?! Easy to get into the main city with a rental car. A good choice for a budget comfortable stay, I wouldn't stay for any length though.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
61AnnetteO, Manager at Aotea Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you for your comments. I am so sorry you were not offered any free wifi as we definitely have wifi available & some free. We are in a very handy location for a drive into the CBD or are within a comfortable walking distance also. Thank you for the opportunity to improve our offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.4 km away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#41 of 146 in Christchurch
268 reviews
1.8 km away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#70 of 146 in Christchurch
67 reviews
5.2 km away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#68 of 146 in Christchurch
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#44 of 146 in Christchurch
139 reviews
1.7 km away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
694 reviews
1.5 km away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Motel

Address: 302 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $104 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aotea Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aotea Motel has 10 apartment style units available at reasonable prices, studio, 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom & interconnecting units all located close to the CBD. Just a 5 - 10 minute walk gets you into our lovely city following the gorgeous Avon River. Handy to supermarket, restaurant & cafes within minutes or venture into the city for lots of other choices. Our friendly, hospitable home away from home awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aotea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing