We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bed and a roof”
Review of Aotea Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aotea Motel
Ranked #81 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2016

The accommodation here is basic. If all you are after is somewhere to spend the night then you're in luck. I wouldn't recommend a stay of any length though.

The rooms are clean although things are quite tight. The owner is very friendly and helpful.

Room 10 is next to the stairs to the top level and can be a little noisy as guests go up and down. If you are a light (or late) sleeper then another room may suit you better.

Room Tip: Not room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J_Traveller_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2016 via mobile

One of the worst places I have stayed. Old frayed curtains carpets minimal cleaning. Hot noisy. Hard old beds. Horrible. No soap minimal towels. Scary stairs to upstairs level. Powerpoints in all the wrong places. No room in the bathroom. You can't dry your hair in front of any mirror as no power point.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
3  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

would have been good if we had just been passing through, but not at the end of our stay in New Zealand. the rooms were dated and there was just not enogh room for all 5 of us and the luggage that we had.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank Namnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Three of us stayed here for 2 nights at the end of Dec 2015. Very friendly owners.

We had a 2 bedroom unit - very small, one room had 2 single beds which were comfortable but there was no room for bags. Other room had a queen size bed which had roll together, thats why I know the single bed was comfortable.
The lounge has only a 2 seater couch, not good when there is 3 adults wanting to sit down, had to use kitchen chairs.
Location is handy to the central city.
Couldn't hear the traffic out on the mian road.
But the rooms were clean and tidy. Very basic but had what we needed.
Kitchen and bathroom a bit out dated.
We did notice as our unit was down stairs that when the people above came in at 2am we could hear everything, including using the bathroom.

The speights restaurant and bar is handy with a easy walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank primar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

My husband and myself would like to say thank u to Annette and Steven we stay at Aotea for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time the room we stayed in clean and tidy and also quite they go out of their way to help people and myself and stayed their until we found a place to live Annette done a great deal for us this is the best motel in Christchurch Thank yours both Craig and myself will be telling people to come and stay at Aotea motel even the cleaner u could talk too as well I would like to give this motel 1000 out of 1000 please thanks for everything from Maryann and Craig Dance

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
Thank cassey2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 km away
Colonial Inn Motel
Colonial Inn Motel
#73 of 146 in Christchurch
67 reviews
3.4 km away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#41 of 146 in Christchurch
269 reviews
5.2 km away
Academy Motor Lodge
Academy Motor Lodge
#67 of 146 in Christchurch
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Ashford Motor Lodge
Ashford Motor Lodge
#44 of 146 in Christchurch
140 reviews
5.5 km away
298 Westside Motor Lodge
298 Westside Motor Lodge
#74 of 146 in Christchurch
75 reviews
1.5 km away
Southern Comfort Motel
Southern Comfort Motel
#90 of 146 in Christchurch
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aotea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aotea Motel

Address: 302 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $104 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aotea Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aotea Motel has 10 apartment style units available at reasonable prices, studio, 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom & interconnecting units all located close to the CBD. Just a 5 - 10 minute walk gets you into our lovely city following the gorgeous Avon River. Handy to supermarket, restaurant & cafes within minutes or venture into the city for lots of other choices. Our friendly, hospitable home away from home awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aotea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing