We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really like this place.”
Review of Thai Container

Thai Container
Ranked #10 of 183 Quick Bites in Christchurch
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: We are a relocated restaurant from the city due to the earthquakes. After the Earthquakes we managed to start up again this time as a takeaway with outdoor seating and making great use of a 40ft container which we converted to a 40ft Kitchen, Our Chefs are still serving restaurant quality food, at takeaway prices. We have a busy little spot so wait times can average between 5-15mins for your meal , txt orders are a good way to go on a wet day ... We look forward to seeing you here. Just remember when placing feedback ..If you have had a problem let us know straight away so we can resolve it, it's hard to be given a opportunity to fix things if you don't tell us.
Reviewed 13 November 2023

The food is always good here. Service is friendly and there are picnic tables outside for you to sit and enjoy your meal which is lovely on a warm night.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2023

Incredibly good food...incredibly fast. We were more than impressed with a better-than-great meal ...all for excellent value.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sherpa46550321819
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2023

After the great dissapointment that is Thai Orchid and desparate for some good thai food this place was a winner.

Solid menu, tasty food and good value. Ticked all the boxes with fast and friendly service and ordering.

Definately on the CHCH Thai list as the search continues....

Date of visit: November 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelxBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2023 via mobile

Tried this Thai after a recommendation and were pleased we did! Hard to find as it looks like a caravan from the road, it’s only when you get close that you see it’s a converted container with a few picnic benches outside. We phoned our order in and it was ready and waiting. Tasty and reasonable sized portions. Would be nice to have an explanation of some of the dishes as we did have to take pot luck!

Date of visit: April 2023
1  Thank GillO190
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2023 via mobile

I was in a long queue of people who had preordered and the food was all sitting there in paper bags. The people serving followed each other round doing goodness knows what while we all waited to pay for food already made. I thought I was in Italy.

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank Scribo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Thai Container also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Thai Container? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.