We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wow”
Review of Thai Container

Thai Container
Ranked #10 of 182 Quick Bites in Christchurch
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: We are a relocated restaurant from the city due to the earthquakes. After the Earthquakes we managed to start up again this time as a takeaway with outdoor seating and making great use of a 40ft container which we converted to a 40ft Kitchen, Our Chefs are still serving restaurant quality food, at takeaway prices. We have a busy little spot so wait times can average between 5-15mins for your meal , txt orders are a good way to go on a wet day ... We look forward to seeing you here. Just remember when placing feedback ..If you have had a problem let us know straight away so we can resolve it, it's hard to be given a opportunity to fix things if you don't tell us.
Reviewed 7 November 2019

What a place! have just arrived back home after a delicious meal at the Thai container. Fresh flavoursome Thai food. The Thai green curry Tofu was out of this world. Will definitely be back before we leave NZ. Which is is 2 days....... Best Thai food we've had outside of Thailand! Setting was amazing and the 2 front of house staff were excellent!

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cribwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2019

We came here twice and the food was so great!!! The prices were great too! Plenty of veggie and vegan options. I left a star off because both times the same girl was behind the counter and she was so cranky, it sticks out in the memory, but it didn't stop us from returning!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Whitney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2019 via mobile

Best Thai I've had in a very long time. Superb flavors, fast. Definately will be back. Conveniently located

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 503cassp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2019

yummy food, friendly staff, vegetarian friendly, reasonable price, not a long wait. Two of us shared a single meal... sweet n sour tofu n vegetables, served with rice. Only outdoor seating, like picnic tables, so don't expect flash, but food is good.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kiwi_perth_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

Amazing food and fantastic flavours.
Unfortunately the food seems to always be served warm, not hot and so it cools down quite quickly.
Some tables need rearranging so that we’re not on servers way.
Would like to be checked on more during our experience as we needed water for quite a while, we ordered a beer that never came and we wanted to ask for another but had to call a server down.
I’ve never bothered asking to have my meal heated up because I don’t want my food going through a microwave, so when I order do I seem rude and ask them to make sure the food is very hot rather than warm? Awkward

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Daydream762463
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Thai Container also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Thai Container? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.