We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Emily B

Good hotel

Review of Hotel Give
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Apr 2024via mobile
The hotel was bigger then I expected, checkin was straightforward, room was clean and had all we needed. We had a twin room with private bathroom, we also had a balcony. We used the laundry room which was really helpful on our trip. It was a short 15 min walk into central christchurch and 10 min drive from the station.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$251
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $251
  • Priceline
    $251
  • Hotels.com
    $251
0.9 km from Hotel Give
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $159
  • StayForLong
    $150
  • Hotel Website
    $159
1.3 km from Hotel Give
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$250
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $250
  • Hotels.com
    $241
  • Expedia.com
    $250
7.0 km from Hotel Give
Free Wifi
Free parking
$300
  • Expedia.com
    $300
  • ZenHotels.com
    $292
  • Priceline
    $300
8.5 km from Hotel Give
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $299
  • Agoda.com
    $245
  • Vio.com
    $279
0.7 km from Hotel Give
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $195
  • CrownePlaza.com
  • Priceline
    $195
0.8 km from Hotel Give
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $249
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Hotel Give
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $169
  • Priceline
    $169
  • Hotels.com
    $169
1.5 km from Hotel Give
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $141
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Hotel Give
Free Wifi
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $190
  • ZenHotels.com
    $185
  • Priceline
    $190
0.8 km from Hotel Give
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
17
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visiting christchurch the ground floor ymca tv reception beds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2024 via mobile

Great showers, complimentary soap and towels. On the edge of the cbd. Nice and quiet. Right next to Hagley park.
Convenient dining in cafe on site. Cinema Lumiere is 50m away in the arts centre.
They kept the bike I had hired in storage before I arrived. 24 hour security and access. You pay about half as much as you would for an ensuite but in the cold light of day it actually is an ensuite ie every room has its own bathroom just outside the entrance way.

Room tip: The inner cbd is a bit of a food desert so you should really bring a little fruit and some vegetables into it. You can store food/cook.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank peterrM6374WL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2024

A wonderful hotel! We were a family of 5 adults who all needed separate beds, so booked a one bedroom apartment (sleeps 4) and a twin room. The rooms were spotless, simply, and beautifully designed. The beds were lovely and firm, and the bedding was top quality. We loved the bath products too! Only downside was the sliding doors of the downstairs bedroom did not close properly, as broken. Otherwise, it was a perfect stay.

Room tip: If you need a late check out, it's $20 per hour.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lululottelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2024

Stayed here for 6 nights, great place, very clean, rooms serviced everyday.
I had a deluxe room which included queen bed, bathroom, table chairs and lounge chair. Staff very helpful. Close to walking to central chch, Avon river, and botanical gardens. Would definately stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katelyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2024 via mobile

We booked the Queen bed which is a large one bedroom apartment with TWO balconies, overlooking the Arts Centre and the Botanic Gardens. The apartment itself was very comfortable, but we could have just stayed on the balconies all day, enjoying the view.
There is a very nice kitchen. The oven was slightly confusing to operate, and we had to call downstairs for assistance, but someone came up very shortly to help. The front desk was very nice, both with the oven help, and getting us tokens for the laundry (which was a couple of floors down).
There is no parking available, but the hotel/hostel is close to public transit.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ualagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

Hotel Give had a lovely central location and most city attractions were within walking distance.

We stayed in one of the deluxe double rooms on the top floor and it was really cozy! There was a kettle and coffee plunger in the room and tea and coffee supplies were provided. These were also kindly replenished every day which was a very pleasant surprise!

We used the common kitchen on a couple of occasions and it was always kept relatively clean and neat.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They also assisted us in storing our luggage in the luggage room on our day of check out!

The only downside of Hotel Give was the thin walls which allowed noise to travel into the rooms (from neighbours and the corridor) with ease. It wasn’t a massive issue for us but was noticeable on a number of occasions.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank StephP001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews