We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Review Highlights
Magical visit!

This was a fantastic experience! The giraffe feeding was magical and such a highlight. We loved... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
H9338WYjessicag
,
Emerald, Australia
via mobile
exciting .. great place.

Great place,. very exciting.. i felt bad for the Gorillas.. as classes of kids go in and no one to... read more

Reviewed 25 January 2024
mindykatz79
,
Dunedin, New Zealand
Read all 1,070 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Christchurch
from $125.00
More Info
from $40.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
from $213.75
More Info
Reviews (1,070)
Filter reviews
1,070 results
Traveller rating
559
330
119
42
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
559
330
119
42
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews giraffe feeding animal enclosures great family day kiwi house cage tiger cafe ape volunteers talks conservation kiwis viewing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 1,070 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2019

Orana offered us our first chance to see some really amazing animals that we don't really get to see at home. For a very reasonable cost, you can also ride in a flat bed truck with a huge cage built around it and drive in with the keepers while they feed the lions! Sadly, 3 days before we traveled we were notified that they had to cancel our lion ride (turned out to be due to temporary staffing shortage, but a huge disappointment). We saw gorillas, rhinos, lions, jaguars---lots and lots of amazing animals. One down side of the park is that they do not have enough shade. It was really hot the day we were there, but too many of the benches were not under trees-- they were out in the hot sun. The heat also made the animals duck into the shade, so we didn't see as many as we otherwise would have. All in all, we really enjoyed the experience, but we think we would have had even more fun if we had visited at a slightly different time.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank HMKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

The park has a great variety of animals and passionate volunteers however visiting on a 30 degree day was not the best for seeing the animals.

The giraffe feeding was absolutely fantastic and the kiwi feeding...was not. Perhaps the number of people in there needs to be limited-I waited 45mins with my 4yo in the kiwi house (15mins prior to feeding and 30mins after) and no sighting. It was hot and too noisy with people constantly going in and out of the kiwi house-there was no way that kiwi was coming out to feed.

After that experience, all of the other animals my son wanted to see were at the other end of the park and although the transport around the park is good, it’s quite infrequent so if you get off, you don’t know how long until the next one arrives and my 4yo was getting pretty over it so we only saw the animals you could see from the transport (which wasn’t the gorillas and orangutans).

We shouldn’t have based our visit around seeing the kiwi feeding and just gone to see the other animals first and then maybe our experience would have been different.

The cafe had good food options although not much shade for eating, and the gift shop was very good.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank ladyl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2019

To be honest I was a little disappointed. Due to the size of the exhibits and the way things are structured you can't see a lot of the animals. The Gorillas and Orangutans have not shade at all unless they go inside, however the glass cages are great for viewing.
The lion feeding was amazing and you must time things right to see this. If you can book the experience in the back to the truck then do it. It is well worth it. No other cafe, ice cream or drinks place that I could find other than at the entrance so make sure you have enough with you.
The whole place looks like it needs a revamp.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2019 via mobile

Most of the enclosures are empty and not maintained. As locals, we were very disappointed how much the place has gone downhill over the years we haven’t visited. New ape enclosure was excellent however still think it’s overpriced considering the rest of the park was highly disappointing.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Wiji2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2018

This was the first time we had visited in many years and pleased to see the increase in animals and how well kept it is. The animals were active and looked to be very well looked after. The gorilla's, cheetahs and lions were worth the visit alone. We spent 4 hours walking around the park, it could be done in 2 to 2.5 if you don't spend a lot of time at each enclosure. The cafe had a good selection of food and although more expensive than in the city, not too much more. It would be to have non-reflective glass in the enclosure and the height of the trees and bushes around the lion and giraffe enclosure could be reduced as they interrupt the view of the animals. Would visit again

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank ClanLaurenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews