We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 4:30 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Step back in time

Well worth the drive and visit. The people who work there an d those in character of the era were... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2020
shanepQ1912PM
Interesting

We went on a fairly quiet Sunday during the latter stages of lockdown but were happy to see what we... read more

Reviewed 9 June 2020
GrayMcGowan
,
Timaru, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 152 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Christchurch
from US$124.40
More Info
from US$59.07
More Info
from US$124.40
More Info
from US$204.77
More Info
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
65
64
16
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
65
64
16
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram ride was fun interesting place to visit during school holidays a great place to spend new zealand couple of hours
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed walking around this historic village. It's huge! It has one of everything. The tram ride was fun and informative too.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank Haterudepeople666
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2020

We went with three young children on a bleak winter's day, and we and the children had an enjoyable couple of hours. The cosy restored house had fires burning and a resident guide who welcomed us warmly, showed us around, told us the history, and engaged well with the children. The tram ride was another big hit with the children (and interesting to us adults too). The driver was another excellent guide, and again great with the kids. There were many interesting exhibits. We were impressed with how well-kept the facility is and with how attractive the park is generally (the backdrop of the Port Hills is lovely). We could have spent longer there, and we hope to return.

Date of experience: June 2020
Thank Otupaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 June 2020 via mobile

We went on a fairly quiet Sunday during the latter stages of lockdown but were happy to see what we did see. We'd have loved to have seen rail action of any kind but the model trains that were running were the nearest to that wish.
A lot of the museum settings across a whole range of our pioneering history were interesting and recalled a lot of our own personal history as well.
The tram ride was great but, at $5.50 each, seemed a tad expensive.
All up, it was a pleasant way to spend an hour or two on a sunny Sunday.

Date of experience: June 2020
Thank GrayMcGowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 April 2020

The best place of its kind that I've ever visited, and I can't understand why it wasn't a lot more crowded (though it's not too easy to get to by public transport). We visited on one of the days when the steam train was running, and with that, the tramway, the buildings, the village and everything, I just can't speak too highly of it.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank Steve_Vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2020

I have visited a number of such exhibitions: Mt Vernon in Virginia, the old village in Denmark. Ferrymead is run by volunteers and therefore is not fully manned all the time. What they lack in numbers, however, the volunteers make up for in spirit. They are truly devoted to their role and quite knowledgable. There is a lot of walking and self touring, but it is all interesting.

Date of experience: March 2020
1  Thank waiake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews