We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$479
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$470
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$416
Fully refundable before Thu, 25 Apr
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,029)
Filter reviews
2,029 results
Traveller rating
1,462
402
119
33
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,462
402
119
33
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teddy bear turn down service hagley park park suite new zealand boutique hotel heated floors light switches lovely hotel executive room botanical gardens small hotel avon river beautiful room south island city centre concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 2,029 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

Not so nice - turned away despite being told there was one but they hadn’t checked in yet!!??
No offer to find another hotel or names and address OR even a map! One staff member was happy to oblige the other made the call - NO
I was so tired I just wanted service and I was alone- v disappointing

Room tip: Make sure you book - ask for Josie I. The coffee shop - she’ll look after you!!!
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank KiwisatLarge1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bruce Garrett, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Dear Departure57309479647
We are very sorry to hear of the circumstances that occurred when you arrived at the hotel at 3.00am last Sunday, hoping to stay with us for that night.
It is most unfortunate that you did not have a reservation with us and that we were unable to accommodate you that night.
We are aware that our Night Manager did telephone another hotel in an attempt to find accommodation for you and was calling another property, but unfortunately before he had an answer for you, you had departed.
Our apologies for your disappointment.

Kind regards

John Etheridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2021

Always good. Exceptional, friendly service, fine accommodation and great location across from the river and Hagley Park. Food in 50 Bistro some of the best in the city without being ridiculously expensive.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bruce Garrett, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Dear Patrick S
We are thrilled to hear your recent stay with us was consistent with previous ones and that you continue to enjoy our facilities, our food offering and, most importantly, the service you receive from all our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

John Etheridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2021

Excellent room layout. Quick and polite room service. Food was excellent as well. Loved the robes and heated floor in the bathroom. Only wished for USB charging ports and air con touch finger was a little more workable (prints were too tiny) - a "how to guide" may have helped. Overall, we had a lovely experience.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shamarvelous
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bruce Garrett, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Dear Shamarvelous
We are delighted your recent stay with us was an enjoyable experience and you appreciated the comfort of and amenities in your room, your room service meal and the service you received from our team.
We are sorry to hear however you experienced some difficulty with our air conditioning controls.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

John Etheridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2021

Stayed overnight on my last night of a South Island trip. I tend to stay exclusively at Accor properties but the choices in Christchurch aren't great so I decided to give The George a try based on the reviews.

I don't know if it's typical or not, but the carpark was almost always full during our stay. Just something to keep in mind, but not a huge issue. The check-in experience was warm and professional. The front desk was occupied so the chap on concierge took care of us rather than having to wait.

The room on the top floor was on the small side, but comfortable, clean and modern. The free teddy is a cute idea.

We drank in the bar and ate at the restaurant - both were excellent.

Overall I really enjoyed The George and I'd stay again without hesitation.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheamus_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bruce Garrett, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Dear Sheamus_81
We are so pleased that your recent South Island holiday included a stay with us and that all aspects of your experience, particularly the service you encountered from our team, met with and hopefully exceeded your expectations.
We acknowledge your comments relating to our complimentary guest parking, which due to our high occupancies of late, has been busy.
We certainly hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back on a future occasion and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

John Etheridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2021

The George Hotel has been around for a long time but other than the accommodation hallways it still looks quite modern. A lovely restaurant, very good service right from walking in the doorway and comfortable rooms and beds make this a very nice top end inner city hotel.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews