We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$151
Hotels.comUS$151
FindHotelUS$134
CheapTicketsUS$151
TravelocityUS$151
eDreamsUS$132
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (898)
Filter reviews
898 results
Traveller rating
512
259
97
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
512
259
97
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mezzanine floor government buildings grand staircase grand hotel amazing building full kitchen ceiling fan two bedroom suite washer dryer valet parking rooms are huge new zealand central location dining table excellent location centre of town south island
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 898 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

Had a Suite on ground floor. Very spacious and well equipped .
Excellent location and food at OGB was fresh and delicious.
Good lap pool.
Only negative factor was our room was a bit noisy.
Staff were very helpful.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gillyflowerbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2019

Dear gillyflowerbean,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor subsequent to your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and found the location excellent, and staff very helpful! We do apologize for your Suite on ground floor having been noisy; if you would like to request a quieter side of the building for your next stay, we will be very happy to do our best to accommodate!

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards, Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2019 via mobile

Sorry. No. This place is an aging creaky noisy dated relic of the past that has been poorly updated and I scarcely believe someone thinks this is an Italian Palazzo style? More like dingey old back street London central boarding house style.
We arrived late/early morning (and NZ you are a world away from everywhere which makes this important, for reasons explained shortly) slept, barely, in overly soft weirdly lumpy beds, listened to the sounds of crazy weirdos running around screaming in the abandoned building adjacent our room all night, closely followed by the morning tram rumble echoing through the building, and then to top it off epic sunshine belting through every crack and seam of the barely functional 1960's drapes at 5am!!
Aaah nothing like a good dose of sleep deprivation to start off a good family holiday!
Not one to fuss (I thought maybe I just missed the historical significance of this building, the proximity to Cathedral Square, and should have been prepared to forego simple comfort and sleep for an increased cultural experience....ummm NO!) we just checked straight out at 8am and moved to another hotel a couple of kilometers from Cathedral Square. Rydges. MUCH MUCH MUCH BETTER!!!!!
We will never stay at Heritage again.
Not our cup of tea or even glass of Chianti.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 75Simmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2019 via mobile

Booked on line having only visited chistchurch before the earthquake. Visiting for a Phil Collins concert, the stay at The Heritage really complemented the visit - the staff were real, really helpful, the pub/restaurant is always packed & has great food. The rooms were palatial, well equipped & really comfortable & the gym/pool was perfect for this kid of stay. The location right next to the Cathedral & on the tram line & “heritage” can’t be beaten. Definitely would come back if staying in Christchurch again

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Dear RoobyBeagle,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor subsequent to your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and found the Suites well equipped and comfortable, and our location unbeatable!

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards, Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2019 via mobile

Firstly, I agree with all the comments about how comfortable and spacious the accommodation is. The hotel is in a great location - again, all good.

For us the hotel was let down by the paucity and inexperience of the reception staff. When we arrived, no one could be found for about 10minutes, and the single reception staff member who eventually arrived was obviously overwhelmed by the tetchy queue that had formed. Having said that, he did his absolute utmost to sort things out and is blameless. This is obviously a common problem as there is notice inviting guests to phone if no one is in reception - it rings another phone on the desk by the way. It was not a good arrival.

Sadly on checking out again there were not enough staff. Despite making a detailed request about time our hire car should arrive in the morning it was 15 minutes late which makes my blood pressure rise when I need to catch a flight!

If the manager put as much effort into providing adequate staff as she does in replying to comments on this website the experience may have been different.

Until the staff situation is sorted I couldn’t recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank hillybills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2019

Dear Hillybills, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on Trip Advisor subsequent to your recent stay. It is pleasing to read positive feedback about the hotels location and we do find that the apartment style Suites, with the bedroom in the mezzanine level, are very popular for its large and unusual size. We are deeply disappointed at failing to provide you with the excellent customer service that Heritage Christchurch pride ourselves on. Unfortunately on the day of your arrival one of our front office team members sustained a head injury and was unable to complete their shift. This is by no means an excuse, but rather an explanation of what caused the Front Office team to appear to be inadequately staffed. I do however take your feedback on board and hope we to have the opportunity to welcome you back should you be visiting Christchurch again.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies. Kind Regards, Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2019 via mobile

Stopped here for a quick visit and loved out stay. Huge suites with mezzanine bedrooms, full kitchenette, bathroom with washer & dryer.
One of the best bits is the cocktail bar/ restaurant, with loads of outside tables and the best cocktails in Christchurch!

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank W2245BIpaulj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCHCResidentMgr, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2019

Dear W2245BIpaulj,

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor subsequent to your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and found the Suites spacious and well appointed!

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to place your feedback and look forward to welcome you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future.

Kind Regards, Astrid Hay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews