We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$191
Hotels.com
$172
Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$180
Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Rose R
Adelaide, Australia
A beautiful hotel to stay and relax for a few days
Review of Pavilions Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Dec 2023via mobile
We were pleasantly surprised with our room in lovely surroundings. The parking was easy and we were able to explore Christchurch CBD on foot.

Breakfast was great with many options. I like the readily available poached eggs and streaky bacon. The toaster was well set to produce good toast instead of anaemic ones. Wait staff were courteous at breakfast and in the Jimmy Restaurant.
The reception staff were helpful and professional.
I can recommend this place as we had a lovely stay.
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lobby
Booking.com
$349
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $309
  • Hotels.com
    $343
  • Priceline
    $349
0.4 km from Pavilions Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$260
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $221
  • Priceline
    $260
  • Expedia.com
    $223
6.2 km from Pavilions Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$296
  • Expedia.com
    $294
  • StayForLong
    $270
  • Hotels.com
    $296
0.7 km from Pavilions Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$237
  • Novotel
    $237
  • ZenHotels.com
    $224
  • Expedia.com
    $235
1.5 km from Pavilions Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$175
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel Website
    $174
  • StayForLong
    $164
  • Expedia.com
    $174
1.9 km from Pavilions Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$238
  • Expedia.com
  • Doubletree
    $238
  • Hotels.com
    $238
1.5 km from Pavilions Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Booking.com
$148
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $148
  • Vio.com
    $136
  • Expedia.com
    $147
1.8 km from Pavilions Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel Give Builidng
Booking.com
$135
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $135
  • Agoda.com
    $120
  • Expedia.com
    $135
1.5 km from Pavilions Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$197
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • StayForLong
    $185
  • Hotels.com
    $197
7.3 km from Pavilions Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$266
  • Expedia.com
    $264
  • ZenHotels.com
    $258
  • Hotels.com
    $266
7.7 km from Pavilions Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (1,308)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveller rating
686
374
155
57
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
686
374
155
57
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jimmy's bar great stay papanui road buffet breakfast spa bath hagley park city centre would stay again home away from home comfy bed horncastle heater accommodation chch nz kitchenette unit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2023

Room was exceptionally clean. Bed very comfortable. All staff were pleasant and welcoming. The breakfast was lovely with an excellent array on offer. Something for everyone either cooked or cereals available..

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 341office
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Rollinson, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Thank you for taking the time to reivew your stay with us. Our housekeeping team are fantastic and very thorough taking great pride in their work. All staff will go over and above to ensure a great experience during your stay. Breakfast is always a great way to star tthe day here at Pavilions. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2023

I am a returning customer, whether for personal visits or business I always try and book at the Pavilions when in Christchurch. Staff are friendly and courteous. Food is of high quality and the spa is an awesome way to round off the day.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mcr0nje
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Rollinson, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2023

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay with us. I am glad that we are your hotel of choice. Our food is fantastic and you cannot go wrong with anything on the menu. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2023

Very good renovated studio
Great breakfast as usual.
Good service
Easy to book. Prime location.
Stayed while my wife was in a nearby hospital. Some of the older rooms in the past have been a bit dated but the superior studio was very good and well priced including breakfast.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank schmacksj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Rollinson, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2023

Thank you for posting a revew on your stay with us. There are only a handful of rooms left to rennovate and they should be completed by July this year. All of our rooms are very spacious and well appointed. Breakfast is always a great way to start the day here. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2023

Lovely spacious modern room, staff are always so friendly and welcoming. Convenient location, and plenty of free parking is a bonus too. So good having a restaurant on site, and the food is always good

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TracyStaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Rollinson, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2023

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. Our staff are all fantastic and will go out of their way to ensure your stay exceeds your expectations. The food is always good and never fails to satisfy. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2023

Friendly, professional and happy staff whom engage with you and treat you kindly. Great pillows and amazing hot water in the showers. Salmon meal devine. Was a live singer in the courtyard at Jimmy's bar which is on the premises. Everything at your fingertips and a small walking distance to Merivale and the Casino. Best plunger coffee too. Thanks Pavilion's for another great stay. I like stay here on all my trips if there is rooms available.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank erintuanui
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Debbie Rollinson, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2023

Thanks so much for taking the time to post feedback on your stay with us. The food is always fantastic and Salmon is a nice choice. We will be having a live singer outside on some evenings during summer and brings a nice relaxing feel to the hotel. Be sure to call and check if you can't get in on line with us as we do hold rooms for our special guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews